Come and help restore a beautiful village home in the heart of East Anglia, UK

Country

United Kingdom

new host  

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello and a warm welcome to our post :)

    We are an open, warm and friendly family, I have a 3 year old (although mum and baby will be based 'off-site', my daughter may come up for a visit during your stay, she is absolutely adorable!), my mother and my brother (again based 'off-site') based in the Suffolk Village of Lakenheath England.

    We all have a passion for buildings, especially historic, so this project is a 2300 sq ft traditional village residence with a lovely established garden and a gothic barn, backing onto an 11th century Church where you can hear the bells ringing Tuesdays and Sundays.

    The objective is to bring this wonderful building back to its former glory to create a warm and beautiful family home in the heart of the village.

    We offer a really kind and open environment for our friends, family, work aways, neighbours and strangers with all being very very welcome!

    We love a chat over a coffee or a tipple, sports, community, cooking and current affairs, and enjoy learning as well as being able to help other learn new skills around us. As well as the building project we also do other trades including Tech Startups, Online Media and Planning and Development.

    Thank you so much for reading, and hopefully hear from you soon, otherwise wish you all the best in your travels!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Apart from the learnings from the works themselves which will be extensive (unless already in the trade), the property is located close by to some wonderful historic cities including Norwich, Bury St Edmunds, Cambridge, Ely and Newmarket. So any worker would be able to visit any or all of these and all they have to offer in terms of nightlife, museums, restaurants etc etc.

    There is also Thetford forest close by for activity centres including a sub-tropical swimming pool, walks and even a Segway tour!

    If you fancied something closer to home (and I mean next door!) St Mary the Virgin Church has some beautiful recently discovered 12th and 13th century paintings, or pop by to the local RSPB bird sanctuary.

    For those shoppers amongst you I would recommend Bury St Edmunds with all the usual shops and restaurants with a new shopping hub.

    Newmarket is only around 10 mins down the road, so race day would be a fantastic day out! With traditional pedigree horse auctions, the setting and atmosphere is breathtaking!

    All in all there is something for everybody all close by - Lots more to mention here!

  • Help

    Help

    Work to be done really consists of elements to help me with my beautiful and charming 200 year old property, and to help breathe life back into it. The work ranges from simple cleaning, decorating and garden maintenance to some more complicated building works (such as removal and erection of internal walls, plumbing, electrics and plastering etc.)

    Essentially ALL skill levels can be accommodated AND much appreciated! :)
    The main thing is that any worker would be keen and flexible with an eye for detail - A passion for older buildings would be an advantage, as it can be such a pleasure restoring an old fire place, or discovering an old floor under the carpet!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Basic French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Within the house, there are several completed rooms - One of which (you'll be pleased to know!) is a newly decorated bedroom with a King Sized divan bed, the room is large with a sofa, chair, TV, cupboard, including period features such as the fireplace, and original corner cupboard.

    Plenty of space to unwind and have some 'me' time without being disturbed or worrying about disturbing anyone else who may be knocking about.

    There is also a sitting room in the centre of the house, with a TV, sofas etc - Again newly decorated and a pleasant place to be!

    The bathroom(s) and Kitchen are yet to be finished (hoping you can help with that ;) but don't worry as you wont have to do any cooking!

    As well as lots of great take aways nearby from Indian to Mc Donalds, we LOVE to cook! So day to day, you name it and you can have it! Salads, pot roasts, lasagne, steaks, cracking sarnies etc etc - In short you will not go hungry!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    More than happy in drop offs and pick ups to and from some of the wonderful areas listed in the benefits of the cultural exchange. There are also good bus links and rail to go further afield (but again pick ups and drop offs are not a problem!)

    Again the main thing here is a willingness to work and flexibility, happy to swap hours around and make it work for all if you wanted a mid week trip to Cambridge for example :)

    Always happy for a chat (we are a chatty family) but absolutely respect peoples alone time, so don't worry about being on 'duty' 24hrs a day as there will be plenty of time to relax and enjoy yourself!

    Occasionally there will be my 3 year old daughter in the property (weekends) and my mothers little dog so I hope that will be ok :)

    Although certain skills maybe preferable (carpentry, Plumbing, Electrical, general builder etc), please don't let that put you off, If you are a hard working self starter looking for an enjoyable new challenge, to learn and make friends along the way you are more than welcome as its all about the individual.

    We are also very liberal, so couples or individuals, the more diverse the better! We also love to learn about other cultures, languages, religions (although we ourselves are not), trades and backgrounds - So if you want to work, learn and thoroughly enjoy the experience please do get in contact today!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 951111292272