Come and help a busy Italo-Brazilian family in Apulia

Country

Italy

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an Italo-Brazilian couple (Ana and Pantaleo) with two small kids (Luca, 7 and Matteo, 5 years old). Pantaleo is an international consultant who is constantly travelling. Ana is a yoga teacher who has to manage the family life by herself during Pantaleo’s many absences. In 2017 we moved to a farm in the province of Lecce, heel of the Italian boot.

    We are looking for someone who loves kids and pets, and has a driver’s license, to look after our two sons (7 and 5 years old), and possibly help with houve/farm chores.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area where we live is known as Salento. Here you will find the omnipresent green of the olive trees (including in our farm!) and the uniquely turquoise sea (20 minutes by car); the sun that shines all year round (which is easy to enjoy in the countryside); the constant wind, either the warm humid Sirocco blowing from the South, from Africa, or the cold dry Tramontana blowing from the North. You will also find music and dance. The folk ‘pizzica’ can make the blood boil in your veins and your body move like crazy. There are pizzica concerts throughout the summer. In our home, instead, you will likely hear some Portuguese speaking and Brazilian music (which may also make your blood boil and your body move like crazy!). We can cook together (I love cooking and learning different cooking cultures). After dinner, especially in wintertime, we like to do some family activity with the kids, like card games and story telling. In the early hours of the morning we try to keep the habit of our personal yoga practice, and you will be more than welcome to join us. Finally, if you have gardening skills and practice I could definitely take advantage of your advice, as the farm needs some embellishment efforts :-) And of course, you won’t leave without tasting sun-dried figs and having and an iced coffee with almond milk.

  • Help

    Help

    - Babysitting and playing with our kids in the afternoons and three evenings per week. This includes watching over the eldest while he does his homework, reinforcing house rules (e.g. respecting maximum 1 hour daily screen time), accompanying (including driving) them to their extra-school activities such as swimming pool and football;
    - Cooking lunch and dinner at times (especially when Ana is not home because of her yoga classes schedule)
    - Supporting on house chores such as cleaning, washing, caring for the pets.

    The person we are looking for has the following qualities/skills:

    - Love for children, pets and the countryside lifestyle
    - Playfulness
    - Patience
    - Positivity
    - Good work ethics
    - Drivers’ licence
    - Cooking abilities
    - Independence, organisation and tidiness are also important.
    - Experience on child care/education is a plus

    Preferred languages spoken: Italian, Portuguese, English, Spanish or French. Our children understand Italian and Portuguese, but we are fine with you speaking your native language with them. They learn fast and we believe it is enriching for everyone involved.

    We are looking for someone who wants to commit for at least 1 month.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own private room with bathroom. The house counts on three bathrooms. Although we have a cleaner coming once/twice a week, you'll be asked to keep your room clean, do your own laundry and help around. The house has decent heating (not obvious in Southern Italy) and wi-fi.

    We offer full board, with many fresh organic vegetables, since we live in a farm.

    You can use one of our bikes and our second family car in your free time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can enjoy the surrounding countryside and seaside (google Torre Sant’Andrea and Torre Dell'Orso to see what our seaside looks like!). Running and cycling are good options, and you can borrow one of our bikes anytime during your stay. You can also visit beautiful historical cities such as Lecce (20 minutes drive) and Otranto (30 minutes drive). Within 2 hours drive, there are many other options, including natural parks, the city of Matera, etc. for short weekend trips. Public transport is practically is very inefficient in our place, but there is a train station (Sternatia) near our farm (5 minutes drive), from where you can take trains directed to Lecce, Otranto and Gallipoli. You can also borrow one of our bikes or even our second family car in your free time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 949644142173