Help with childminding and join our family in Strasbourg, France

Country

France

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/11/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!

    we are a warm & extroverted french-german family with two very outgoing, rather curious and absolutely adorable little boys:
    - Joshua (4 years old)
    - Léonardo (2 years old)

    We live in Kehl, only 2 subway-stations from Strasbourg (France).
    Our family language is french but my husband and I also speak english and german fluently.
    We love cross-cultural encounters, we love to sing and to re-discover the world through the eyes of our two boys (that we often call "nos 2 merveilles"). We bought a beautiful 200 m2 house only 15 Minutes walking distance to the subway towards Strasbourg, the "heart-of-europe".

    We would love to welcome a baby-sitter /international friend to our small french-german family that lives with us, shares her culture (especially food, customs and language) and helps with babysitting&chores ( 18 hrs / week).
    Mornings, early afternoon and weekends you would be completely free :-)
    => Here you could explore Strasbourg (France) / Kehl, take language lessons or even follow part time studies in Strasbourg...

    Since we live right at the french-german border you would have the choice between following professional language lessons for german or for french (both is available).
    Additionally Suzanne might be able to help you if you have any questions about those languages since she has a Masters degree in linguistics and teaching experience

    *️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️

    Bonjour,
    nous sommes une petite famille franco-allemande avec 2 petits garçons.
    Nous habitons depuis peu à la frontière entre la France et l’Allemagne (coté allemand).
    Nous adorons les rencontres entre les cultures, les voyages, la musique et les discussions ouvertes.
    Nous souhaiterions que nos deux garçons grandissent avec différentes influences culturelles, qu'ils découvrent une autre culture grâce à toi...

    Notre famille est vraiment très européenne:
    On vit en Allemagne, notre langue maternelle est le français et notre nom de famille est italien. Nous venons d’emménager dans une belle maison en face de Strasbourg (France) dans la ville de Kehl (Allemagne). Nous sommes très ouverts, curieux et faciles d'approche...
    Notre quotidien est rythmé par nos 2 petits enfants. Ils ont seulement 14 mois d’écart et adorent jouer ensemble, rire et courir. Une journée typique chez nous commence par le lever des enfants (vers 6H), suivi du petit déjeuner, le jeu et les changements de couche avant de partir pour la crèche.
    Ton rôle serait essentiellement de les gaarder à partir de 16h30.
    Tout le reste de la journée tu auras du temps libre pour découvrir Strasbourg (France), Kehl (Allemagne), suivre des cours de langues ou même un cursus universitaire en temps partiel.

    Quand il fait beau, nous sortons nous promener vers le rhin. Quand il pleut on organise des petites activités à l’intérieur.
    Nos 2 petits font beaucoup de câlins, et adorent les puzzles :-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We literally live right next to the french-german border and this region of Europe is a very vibrant place that is full of historical lessons & stories to learn. Many people don't know that the german constitution has been written in Offenburg which is a quick car-ride away (20 Min ride). And in Strasbourg one can visit / be part of many European institutions like ARTE and the European Parliament. So this a very interesting location for anyone passionate about History, Politics and Languages. Both sides of the Rhine river are colored by the omnipresence of bilinguals and a beautiful Symbol of Peace...

  • Help

    Help

    With two working parents, you will be that essential extra pair of hands to help ease the pressure and keep things running smoothly. Especially, considering that Nicolas is going to be away 2 days a week on business trips. We are looking for someone who is very trustworthy, organized, tidy, proactive and pleasant to be around.
    The weekly schedule might look approximately like this:

    Monday to Friday 4:30 PM - 8 PM

    - Pick up the children from daycare, take them to a playground or home to play inside and give them a healthy snack and tidy up after playtime. Then 1-2 light chores such as one laundry for the children or vacuuming their "play-area".

    - 1 Evening of 3H babysitting per week or every 2nd week (while the children are sleeping)

    PLEASE NOTE:
    We want to give you any opportunity to have activities & friendships outside the family.
    We live not far from the city center and Strasbourg can be reached by bike or by subway (20min). We gladly help you to find the activities you want to do around this historically important, bicultural environment :-)
    It would be greatly appreciated though if we could prepare & eat dinner together at least 2-3 times a week. This is meant to be a moment to exchange about your day... ;-)
    ALSO
    Once a week (ideally Sunday?) we are going to have a small family meeting to talk about the upcoming week, organizational things and wishes you or we might want to discuss with each other.
    Apart from this we would appreciate it enormly if you could help out with the daily household chores :-)

    *️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️*️️️️️️

    Nous recherchons une personne très responsable et autonome. Cette personne doit être capable de s occuper seule de deux enfants en bas âge pendant nos absences.

    (approx. 16H30 - 20H00) Récupérer les enfants à la crèche, leur donner un gouter, les emmener sur le terrain de jeu ou les emmener jouer à la maison. Puis mettre en route une lessive (uniquement avec les affaires d'enfants!) ou accomplir une autre tâche ménagère simple définie ensemble préalablement, Entre 19H et 20H on rentre du travail et on pourra donc tous manger ensemble.
    ...Puis TEMPS LIBRE ;-)

    On tient à ce que tu puisses faire des rencontres & activités en dehors de la famille et on te soutiendra dans cette démarche autant que possible. Mais ce serait très apprécie si on pouvait avoir comme objectif commun de passer au moins 2-3 repas (dinner)/semaine ensemble afin de partager un moment complice régulier en famille.
    On tient également à avoir un moment le dimanche pour parler ensemble de l organisation et des souhaits de chacun...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a beautiful big house with terrace and garden in a residential part of Kehl (Germany), just a 20min tramway ride from Strasbourg (France).
    We are extremely well situated in the city center but in a very quite part. The main bus stations (to other german towns like Offenburg and willstätt) and tramway station (to Strasbourg) are very close (7min walk) as is the city center.
    There are many other interesting places just a car ride away like Vosges-mountains (France), Black-Forest (Germany), Colmar (France), Karlsruhe (Germany) and the swiss border /Basel /Freiburg....

    We have prepared a beautiful room just to be able to welcome an international friend to our family. The room is approx 16m2 big and completely furnished. There is a huge window that opens up to a hidden part of our family-garden. There is a private rest-room right next door whereas our family bedrooms, study and bathroom are on the 1st floor.

    We love to cook and have a big comfortable kitchen with dish washer, stove, bread maker and steam cooker.
    We aren't vegetarian but if you are that is fine and we would be happy to cook vegetarian food when we have common dinners.
    If you are vegan we might not be the right family for you since we still love milk-products, eggs etc and eat those for every meal...

    We try to keep the house to a minimum clean (vacuumed) but it's far from spotless. If this is very important to you we should probably agree to a common cleaning schedule ;-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are excited about sharing everyday life with you. We had baby-sitters taking care of the boys from the beginning and met fantastic girls through this. Suzanne has been very active and hosted over 20 international guests before we had the children.
    Since Joshua was born we had planned to start introducing babysitter/Au Pair/international-friends in our family.
    Now that the room is all ready we can't wait to welcome our first guest!!!


    *️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️

    Ideally:
    - you are looking for a long stay (more than 6-9 months) starting August / September.
    - you love spending time with the family
    but you are independent enough to start other activities / contacts outside the family as well
    - you love good food and wine

    AND
    - You do not smoke

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3,5 hours a day + 1 evening (18hrs a week)

We are very active!!!
Our house is from the 70s and we continuesly renovate one room after another! This is the room we renovated especially for our international guests / workawayer / YOU :-)
We love to be outside
Being french, food is extremely important to us... Those are some exotic french pastries, what are YOUR favorite desserts?
Host ref number: 947758248295