Help our family with childminding close to the city of Figueres, Spain

  • Favourited 14 times
  • Last activity: 22 Apr 2024



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    We are a family of five people and a dog. Isabel and Miguel are the adults and the little girls are called Luna, Noor and Lis. Surco is our mascot. A few months ago we moved to Catalonia from the south of Spain; to the Alt Emporda area. We live in a town very close to the city of Figueres, known for being the 'city of Dalí'.

    We are very happy to be able to raise our daughters in a natural environment, full of hiking trails on the banks of the La Muga river. In addition to enjoying the town, we are only 6 minutes from the city and very close to other wonderful towns in the interior and 15 minutes from the Costa Brava; emblematic for its well-known towns of Cadaqués, Begur and many others.

    Miguel works in the mornings as a State official, although his vocation and his training is oriented towards journalism and communication for development. Isa is a yoga teacher and she really likes crafts. She is now developing a project to create ritual candles. We are very restless people and we are always thinking about projects related to art and communication.

    We would very much like to receive someone at home who shares our concerns and passions, and a small part of our responsibilities. Our dream is to be part of an ecovillage but at the moment we are working hard on the psychological and operational aspects necessary to make the leap to this great adventure. We would like the Workaway experience to reconnect us with the need for a tribe and we want our daughters to grow up with other adults who give them other points of view and other ways of giving and receiving affection.

    In our 10 years of romantic relationship we have gone through many moments of high intensity. We spent time in Madrid, then two years in Argentina and returned home to give birth to Luna, who is now 5 years old. Three years later, Noor arrived with her little dinosaur noises and finally, less than a year ago, almost without warning, Lis appeared in our lives. Although we are quiet people, who run away from noise and bustle, at home we always have a very busy environment.

    At the operational level, we need a person to help us for a minimum of 3 hours in the morning, from Monday to Thursday, to accompany the little ones (Noor and Lis). Luna, is already in a small village school. We would like the person who comes to the house to also accompany the girls for a while (at most 2 hours) two afternoons a week; which can be Tuesdays and Thursdays. To facilitate the calculation task, in total we would be talking about 20 hours of collaboration with the girls, from Monday to Thursday. In these spaces of coexistence with the girls we would also be present at almost all times. We know how complex it can be to deal with three creatures. Clue to survive: a sense of humor is key.

    In consideration for this work, we would cover the basic expenses of food, we would give him a room with his own bathroom and spaces to work and exercise in a fairly large house, almost 300 meters. In addition, you could have our car (van) to make trips and some trip scheduled in advance.

    Perhaps the most remarkable thing is that we believe that we are in a position to offer coexistence with people who try to carry out healthy and conscious emotional management and a commitment to dialogue and personal growth. We are strongly betting on an alternative existence; that promotes the autonomy and development in freedom of the people of the house. In short, we are available for any questions and open to all the ideas and proposals that our guests bring. We like people who are direct, daring, fun and aware of their abilities and limitations.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area in which we live is full of potentialities. It will depend on the mood of the person, take more or less advantage of the experience. What we can guarantee is that you will have our support at all times and we will be very attentive to your needs.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Basically, it is about accompanying the girls about 20 hours a week. In the mornings a 2 year old girl and a baby. And in the afternoons at three, adding to the five-year-old. Most of the time with another adult will be present and cooperating with any questions or problems that may arise.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We would like to improve our english or other european languages.

  • Accommodation


    On the top floor of the house, we would give you a large room, with a built-in desk, and a very close bathroom for your exclusive use. In addition, the possibility of having a gym, TV room and outdoor terrace. Then, downstairs, we will share the large kitchen and living room with the rest of the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although we haven't been here long, we know the environment well. Unfortunately, in the car, with the three girls in the back, we will not be able to travel together, but you will be able to travel on your own, both on public transport and in our car. We will guide you in what you need to move around the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Near our house, there is a space to park caravans

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only a dog.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5-6 hours a day, 4 days a week

Host ref number: 946466273548

Feedback (1)