We look forward to visitors helping out from all over the world in Saltspring Island, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello workaway travelers. My name is Robin and I live on Saltspring Island, British Columbia, Canada. I live a ten minute walk from Ganges (the town center which is located along the main road and bus route.You'll be sharing the house with my adorable dachshund. I look forward to welcoming visitors to my home. I have a beautiful home and a nice guest bedroom and further detacheddsleeping cabin which would be used over the warmer seasons.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Elderly Companionship
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a retired Anthropologist and Archaeologist and have travelled to 3 continents. I've hosted exchange students from Japan and Taiwan, engage daily with friends from all around the world, and am very comfortable with those who speak limited English.
    Saltspring is a beautiful and peaceful rural location. There are many wonderful nature activities (hiking, biking, kayaking). There is also a strong artistic community highlighted by a Saturday market. I enjoy painting and would enjoy talking about art/music, and love to garden.
    Saltspring is a great chance to experience rural Canada between a visit from Vancouver to Victoria and our location is extremely convenient.

  • Help

    Help

    Household organizing and cleaning, cooking, bringing in wood, and pet care as well as helping with computer needs. I have raised veggies beds and gardens and a small amount of grass that would need cutting and other various small touches needed to complete renovations.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a detached sleeping cabin but without water or bathroom facilities from the house which available while you stay in the warmer seasons. There is a nice guest bedroom. We would share a beautiful kitchen. We have a wood stove for cooking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You would be able to do an internet search and learn more about our island's features.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours per day, 5 days per week



Host ref number: 946151175289