Help with house renovations in Cornwall, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 34 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    The "Project" is painting my garden fence and/or decorating a room inside- not a major undertaking but one which keeps slipping to the bottom of my ToDo List - and maybe some gardening if time allowed.
    Anticipated 2-3 days work and stay, depending on how many volunteers. I would ask that each volunteer would work for a minimum of 3 hours and max of 4 hours/day - unless bad weather prevents outdoor painting - in which case you would have more time off!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My house is in a small lane of 10 houses, in an extremely beautiful area of Cornwall. There is moorland with ancient Iron Age and Neolithic sites to explore and an amazing beach just 3/4 mile away, down a lane and a cliff track. Our small village has a very strong community , based around farming and traditional Church events (whether or not one is religious!) but also involving a local coffee shop and gallery.
    I have been doing property rental for the past few years and really enjoy meeting people from all over the world. I`m afraid I speak only English but usually get on well with most people. I have lived in this village for nearly 40 years and have been involved in farming, tourism and education locally through a variety of part time jobs. I enjoy kayaking and riding, pushbike and walk more often than I drive, and used to be a member of the local Cliff Rescue Team until 2010.

  • Help


    Painting fence and indoor decorating

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, smattering of french

  • Accommodation


    This is a very small house, occupied by me and my ancient cat (I`m pretty ancient as well). Volunteers would have a room with a small double bed and would be welcome to use the rest of the house and garden as well.
    The shower is a handheld contraption over the bath.
    Breakfast of cereal and toast (and maybe eggs) would be provided and at least one other meal per day, depending on when you planned to be around. Vegetarian not a problem.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off: obviously the local beach (Portheras Cove); amazing cliff and moorland walks; local pubs 2 mls in one direction and 4 mls in the other ; nearest town is Penzance (7 mls) and we are about 8 mls from St Ives. The bus journey along the Coast Road to St Ives is well worthwhile for the stunning views.
    Buses are more frequent in the Summer but "frequent" is a relative term...bicycles are a good idea (can be hired locally)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 4 hours per day

Host ref number: 944787525392