Help tend our organic garden, grow mushrooms, and non-profit fundraising in East Palo Alto

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 113 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our names are Noshin and Dan. A little about us, I am studying physics and Dan is a software engineer at Google. We both love hiking and travel. We have a non-profit based in East Palo Alto, California. Our organization has worked on numerous projects including a contact tracing app for COVID-19, creating masks to protect against COVID, providing self-sufficient portable sinks and doing health clinics in Haiti, and projects with sustainable agriculture. We have a huge garden here behind the house with a greenhouse, fish pond, chickens, aquaponics system, and many fruit and vegetable plants. We are looking for people to help us take care of the garden and help with fundraising for the nonprofit.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in the heart of Silicon Valley and the Bay Area, with just a 35 minute drive to San Francisco and access to numerous beaches, parks and preserves nearby for excellent hiking trails. During your stay here you have the chance to take part in many projects for the nonprofit and learn new skills along the way.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for one or two individuals that have gardening experience that can help with turning the compost, general maintenance of the garden, planting new saplings, and sowing new seeds. We are also looking for someone that can commit at least a couple months and has experience with growing mushrooms. This was a project we had started with previous volunteers but did not finish. We have all the equipment and space ready to start growing mushrooms, but are lacking the skills and experience to properly carry out the growth process. Other projects for the garden include building a quail coop and cobb oven.
    Currently we have a drip irrigation and aquaponics system in the garden that needs to be redone, so if you have any experience with that, please reach out as well! We will also be hosting fundraising events for our nonprofit in the garden that we will need help organizing (following the proper measures for COVID).
    We have another property in Half Moon Bay that we will need help clearing out the land for in order to start a garden there. There is also an unfurnished space in the house that we will clear out to start an indoor garden.
    If you are interested or have experience with any of the projects mentioned above, please reach out! We would love to have you on our team!

  • Languages spoken

    Bengali (Bangla): Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Haitian Creole: Fluent
    Romanian: Fluent
    Arabic: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have your own bed in a shared space, as well as a shared bathroom and access to the whole house and garden. Staple foods and fresh produce and eggs from the garden will be available daily during your stay. You have complete access to the garden and kitchen to harvest and cook your own food. You are also welcome to use our Honda Element if you need transport (with a valid driver's license) which will be available for use at the house. We won't be living on the property, but you'll be sharing the house with other workaway guests or tenants that live in the rooms upstairs. We are always available if you need us and will be coming by the house from time to time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You are expected to clean up after yourselves. No drugs or partying allowed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 943467173992