Hobby farm help and other adventures in Nordfold, Norway

Country

Norway

new host  

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/04/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a pensionist farmer with about 50 sheep, for company and to keep me occupied. My farm is in the beautiful place named Steigen. We have fantastic nature. Besides the help on the little hobbyfarm we have many possibillities to go hiking, fishing, boating or using the farm and its machinery. I am living alone, so I have lots of place and normally a spare car too.
    In the spring we have to cut the wool and pay attention when the lambs are born. Then the sheep get transportet to an island by boat. Its october when the are retrieved. Besides hobbyfarm help I am seeing forward to diskussions about potitics, live an anything else.
    Feel free to ask for more information.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While living i one house with me you will learn all about the norvegian language, the traditional food, the politics and the social system in Norway. We are going to live together as a family doing nearly everything together. I would love to diskuss the diffreences between our countries. You get to know the nature by foot and by boat and you are getting to know more people in Steigen. There will be people from the region helping at the hobby farm too. We will share the house, prepare the meals togesther and we will have a lot of time to talk.
    You will learn a lot about sheep. I only have 50 now while I used to have 250 when I was younger. Now I have the sheep for company and to keep me occupied.

  • Help

    Help

    I need a little help with the sheep. Feeding, lambhelp, transportation to the island for the summer season. While the sheep are on the island you can see after the house and the dog if I am away for some days.

    I will be offering food and accomodation.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    German: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a big farmhouse, so there is enough room. You might get a car and a boat for free use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearest airport is Bodø (BOD), from there you can take the speedboat to Helnesund or the bus to various destinations in Steigen. I will pick you up there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 943129795819