Help needed for renovating our house in the middle of Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 4 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/12/2018

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hallo!
    We, a family of six with Ansgar (31), Linda (30), Grete (3 months), our cats Holly and Else and our dog Merlin, just bought a house in Meura. This house needs a good portion of renovation in order to make it shine again.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As we are a German family, you could learn a little German while you are here. And you could get to know the life in a small german village.
    The village is located in a beautiful natural landscape with plenty of ways to hike your way through the Thüringer Wald. Erfurt and Weimar, interesting historical cities, are close by and worth a visit for a weekend.

    Also, the house renovation will teach us all new skills that we don't have yet :)

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people that would enjoy renovating an old pretty house. There is no pressure in time, but there is also just a tiny budget. You don't need any special skills, but it can't hurt if you know how to use a hammer.
    We don't expect you to work e.g. four hours every day. We discuss every day what needs to be done. If you want to go somewhere for a weekend, just do so. We believe it is possible to find a good balance of work that needs to be done and free time to enjoy the surroundings. We just need to talk about it :)

    At the moment we try to construct a kitchen and a living room in the same style as it was built 100 years ago. Filling cracks and build a kitchen counter out of wood. Simultaneously we clear out the house from all the things the previous owner left behind.

    We basically need a second pair of hands as Ansgar will show you how it needs to be done.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German and English fluently, a few phrases in Spanish, Italian and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is one guest room available with a double bed and a sink. The bathroom would be to be shared with us, but we are hoping to build up a second one soon - maybe with your help. The kitchen is also for all of us. But we have a dishwasher, so no need to do any dishes really :)

    As we live in a small village there is only a small shop for the most needed groceries. Any bigger shopping can be done in Saalfeld. We drive down to Saalfeld approximately once a week by car and you can join us. Other than that it's quite difficult to get around by public transportation.

    We already live here, so the house is in a good condition. It is mainly the old-fashioned GDR style that we would like to get rid off.
    Internet is slowly working with WiFi, but the use of a mobile phone is difficult, as there is no reception with all providers, except Deutsche Telekom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We try to get back to a more natural way of living, but not too extreme. We do eat meat and we do have plastic waste we need to throw away. But we try to become better :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    flexible and depending on our daily projects

Merlin
Old living room - in desparate need of renovation!
Linda and Grete in our Bulli (VW T4)
Ansgar and Grete in our old flat
Host ref number: 942787685839