updated  

Help teach children at my NGO in Bangkok, Thailand

  • Thailand
  • Favourited 126 times
  • Last activity: 05/02/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi! I am Chris. I am Thai. I am passionate about educating children, especially in English language skills. I worked as a volunteer teacher with NGO's for many years and now I have finally started a local foundation to help children in rural parts of Thailand. My project is called." Superhero English". We have a mobile learning truck that brings books, toys, educational shows, art classes, and language activities to local schools. The truck has a convertible stage. We conduct activities using a combination of dramas, games, story telling, and reading to children. My goal is to bring joy, inspiration, and meaningful learning experiences to children all over Thailand. We have some ongoing projects towards the south of Thailand and we are planning to expand the projects to the Northern parts of Thailand next.

    Besides myself, the founder, and the other main board members, we mostly have part-time volunteers. We network with local volunteers, students, and the expat community here in Thailand. My wife is Canadian, so from time to time we have volunteers and relatives coming to join our volunteer activities.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have plenty of sight seeing along the way. I like to stop and enjoy the local scenery and local places. Joining the project is also a great way to experience the Thai culture by getting to know many new people, teachers, and students. Thailand has a rich culture and Thai people are very friendly and welcoming. You will also learn a lot by getting to know the Thai children we visit.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I am calling those of you who have superpowers of the English language. You don't need to be a super actor or teacher, but you need a love for kids and willingness to take action. You must be active, friendly, expressive (no drugs, or smoking please).
    We can use whatever talents you have to help contribute to our project. We need a lot of hands to make everything run smoothly. So let us know what your superpower is and we'll help you channel your power!
    We also need someone who can do clowning and ballooning or a little magic show for the projects.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Thai: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Simple and clean accommodations will be arranged in the local area we are working in and close by to the schools we visit. Sometimes we stay in place with a fan, sometimes we have air conditioning. Each area we visit is different, so specifics of the accommodations will be available only before a specific trip.
    We will provide you with simple breakfast ingredients (bread, eggs, bananas, etc.) so you can make your own breakfast. The schools we visit typically serve simple Thai meals (rice or noodles). Thai food is delicious, though it can be a bit spicy. Depending on how many days the trip is, some dinners will be included, otherwise there is plenty of local street food available (delicious and cheap).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We mostly need help on the weekdays. Some weekends will be free, depending on the duration of the trip. When you are on the trip the schedule can be changeable. We need someone who can be flexible and easygoing. You can explore the local areas and food. Sometimes our trips can take a few days, up to a few weeks, depending. If you are interested and want to know more please contact me through e-mail. I am based in Bangkok and we will drive to the other areas for the projects. Our upcoming project is in the North. You can choose to join in Bangkok and help with the preparation or we can meet you in the North. (details will be provided for those who are interested to join)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 942715727293

Feedback (3)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)





Farm work in the quiet hills around Phitsanulok, Thailand
Make new friends at our social hostel in the centre of Chiang Rai, Thailand