A new beginning between sea and snow in Sicily, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!
    My name is Danilo. My wife Silvia, our 4yo daughter Gea, our 1yo son Naga, a new coming still into Silvia's belly and I are trying to set in the country. We have a 2Ha land between the small towns of Scillato and Polizzi Generosa, 30ks from the sea, and 25ks from the ski plants in Piano Battaglia, inside the Madonie Regional Park.
    We have bought this land in November 2017, and after a neverending bureaucratic process, we are finally going to build a house vert soon. In the meanwhile, we are restoring a tiny caravan to host new friends.

    Our mission is long term, since we intent to reach selfsufficiency by producing our food and energy.
    There are tons of works to do, like fencing, projecting and preparation of vegetable gardens, watering plants, planting trees, finishing restoring the caravan, building a composting toilet and improving the look of this beautiful land we are settling in.

    The land is well served by paved road, it borders a small stream, and it is surrounded by green valleys and mountains.

    We speak fluent english, having spent nearly four years between Australia, New Zealand and Ireland.
    I also speak very good spanish (Silvia understand it, but she doesn't speak so well! :) ), and we both speak "schooly" French!


    In exchange for 4/5 daily working hours, we provide tent space (even tent, if needed), food (we are vegan and vegetariana, and we provide vegetables, rice, pasta, cereals, fresh fruit, seeds and so on, but non-vegetarian food is welcome, if needed), a composting toilet, music around the fire at night, walks and tours! Silvia is also a wonderful cook and she is happy to share recipes and secret techniques!!! :D

    Right now there is nothing on the land, exept for a water tank getting water from a spring, and we live in a rented small house in the woods 3ks away. As soon as we'll get the house, the hospitality will be very much better!

    Looking forward to meet many of you, we wish you a wonderful life! :D

    Danilo, Silvia, Gea, Naga, and small-bean-in-the-belly!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both travellers, and we have many stories to share. We love foreign languages, and we are currently studying Japanese. We like cooking, and we love sharing recipes and food!
    We are also both singers, and we have some musical instruments for jam sessions and fun!
    With us, you will enjoy the purity of the sicilian country. A place between sea and mountains, surrounded by valleys and mountains, inhabited by fallow deers, hedgehogs, foxes, boars, porcupines, and many beautiful birds.

  • Help

    Help

    Everything you could do to help us planning this sustainable life we chose, like plantig, building, digging, pruning, squeezing your brain to share your good ideas! :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Japanese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have tent spaces, and a huge tent with two bedrooms inside. Also, there is a small caravan we are turning into a tiny bedroom for you friends.
    If you have a van, you are very welcome to bring it in!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our land is close to Agriturismo Santa Venera, Polizzi Generosa, easily findable on google maps. The closest town is Polizzi Generosa (8ks), reachable by bus from the main big cities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 942258528467