Help us at our ethical horse farm while enjoying the countryside in Greater Manchester, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 234 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 38 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ***COVID UPDATE*** We cannot currently host guests in our house due to COVID restrictions and due to my grandma staying in the workawayers' usual room!
    We can welcome anyone who has separate accomodation i.e. a motorhome which we could accommodate on our car park or someone staying/living locally.


    We are a family farm set in 50+ acres on the edge of the Peak District, just 25 mins on the train from Manchester City Centre.
    We have 6 horses of our own in a herd of around 17. Our farm is an ethical, holistic horse farm where horses live together as a herd all year round, never in stables.

    Myself and my boyfriend are converting a van to live in and have just acquired 2.5 acres adjoining the farm where we plan to grow all our own food (eventually) following organic, permaculture principles, as well as creating a forest garden.

    I currently work away anywhere from 1 to 3 days a week and my mum is shielding so is not able to have much interaction with volunteers. As there may be a few days a week of alone time, the farm might better suit couples/ friends travelling together. However, when we are around me and my boyfriend are very sociable and will take any willing volunteers around all the local pubs!

    We need extra help with the more physical jobs and/or building things (from composting bays to horse shelters).

    We are very interested, and have some knowledge, in:
    Eco-building, sustainability, permaculture, companion planting, food forests, foraging, plant identification, food preservation techniques, zoopharmaconosy, medicinal plants and natural remedies, pilates, the horse-human relationship, mindfulness with animals and classical dressage.

    My mum speaks French and German and I speak Spanish and some French. We like learning new languages or helping with English language so language learners are very welcome.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Things you can learn more about here:
    -Equine behaviour and welfare
    -Permaculture
    -Horse care
    -Equine emotions and body language
    -Sustainable pasture management practices
    - Rights of way laws and info (bridleways/footpaths etc).

    We are set in a beautiful village with lovely countryside and walks but also very near to Manchester which is a culturally vibrant city with a great food and music scene. There lots to do and explore here!
    We enjoy sharing, language learning and cultural exchange and like to meet new people with different ideas.

  • Help

    Help

    Currently work can include any of the following:
    -Caring for horses
    -Lots of fencing!
    -Building and repairing shelters and facilities/ general maintenance
    -Pasture /hedgerow management and maintenance
    -DIY garden projects i.e. building raised beds.

    I can give guidance with most of the above minus DIY skills, so anyone with building skills would be invaluable!
    Practical and hands-on people are very welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Due to COVID we can only currently accomodate motor homes/ caravans / vans or people staying elsewhere locally.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a fairly relaxed attitude to work and like to give volunteers plenty of time to themselves to go exploring.
    Any volunteers must be friendly and good with animals and people.
    We can provide food including vegan options if you let us know.
    We expect volunteers to be fairly self sufficient (do most of your own washing, cooking and cleaning).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a car park big enough for horse boxes so should be able to accomodate any motorhome. We don't have electric hook up.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    May be able to accept pets depending on requirements.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 3-5 days a week


Host ref number: 941133847342