Come see Lake Superior and the beautiful forests in Northern Minnesota and help at our family home near the small town of Two Harbors, USA.


United States

Favourited 43 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    About our area:
    We live in the small town of Two Harbors next to Lake Superior, the biggest fresh water lake in the word (in surface area, the third biggest in volume). Minnesota is a wonderful state of natural beauty. We have many unspoiled wilderness areas and national parks. We live 30 minutes from the city of Duluth (population 86,066)

    About us:
    We are a family of four. Nichole and Jonah (mom and dad) Caia (14) and Iris (12) (girls). We have a dog, two cats, and 13 chickens.

    We only speak English currently so you must be able to speak it well.

    We dont consider ourselves normal Americans. We are old punk rockers who enjoy Halloween, scavenging, political debates (Jonah), underground music, hiking, nature, 4-wheeling, hunting, art, literature, gardening, movies, video games, camping, foraging, biking, and big plans. We sometimes take on more than we can accomplish. Which is why we need extra hands to accomplish plans.
    We value uniqueness and intelligence. A positive attitude would be a welcome thing to have around here too.
    We are doing our best to conserve, reuse,and recycle. We try to waste as little as possible.
    I'm (Nichole) an artist who likes to be alone when creating art. But enjoys others company otherwise. This is my pet project and I'm super excited to meet you.
    Jonah is a musician and artist who plans on making an alblum in the future.
    We both have jobs. Jonah has a seasonal job as a gardener. So, in the winter he is home from work or working for his uncle. I work as a lab tech for the clinic in a town a little ways away. It takes me a while to drive to and from work.
    As a 2 parent working household we don't have a lot of extra time. Which is why the extra help here is much appreciated and needed.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange:
    History= In Two Harbors there is the Maritime museum, 3M museum, and the lighthouse. We live 30 minutes from historical Duluth which offers various museums, ore boat history, and a variety of historical buildings.
    Learning = We can teach you to tend to chickens, forage in the area, art, camping, and possibly hunting (if you will be with us for a while).

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We have a medium/small family home in a rural area. Your main duty would be cleaning and organizing in the house and yard.
    Beyond that the help that is needed varies on the time of year and what we are currently working on. Please communicate with us about your skills, likes, and dislikes. We can find duties that fit you well.
    After the first few days it is important that you are able to work independently as we are both away at our jobs most week days. (April-November) Questions are always okay though. Communication is important.

    Type of help:
    Main one = Cleaning and organizing/ housekeeping/ laundry
    Other help=cooking, painting, carpentry/ building and remodeling, vegetable and fruit gardening, fixing things/ handy work, lawn care (summer), snow removal (winter), feeding and caring for chickens, wine making, foraging (seasonal), pet care and training, butchering deer (November), online help, harvesting and canning, mechanics (when needed), landscaping (when needed), and teaching.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    • Guest bedroom with fold out couch, is also our "art room" has organized art supplies in it and biok shelves.
    • There is a mini fridge in the room for guests to use.
    • One shared bathroom
    • Shared shower (good hot water)
    • You supply your own toiletries: shampoo, toothbrush, toothpaste, hair brush/comb.
    • We supply: clean towels, toilet paper, clean sheets, bedding (blankets).

    3 meals per day;
    • Breakfast = Are sometimes prepared and eaten together, and are sometimes prepared yourself
    • Lunches = Serve yourself, usually sandwich style meals or leftovers.
    • Dinners = Prepared and eaten together, cooking duty is shared by volunteering for a turn. We (the adults) love ethnic foods and variety and are willing to try new things (not spicy foods for Nichole and kids though). Occasionally we go out to eat or order delivery/ take-out foods from local restaurants in town.
    • Snacks = Some shared, some you provide for yourself.
    • Alcohol = Allowed in moderation

    Transportation: Most of the time we have bikes for you to use, weather permitting. Occasionally we can run you somewhere with our vehicles if it fits into our schedule.

    We have high speed internet.

    We have a dog that takes a little while to get used to people. Be patient and he will like you.

    Minnesota is a very cold state. The cold weather here lasts anywhere from October to May. Keep this in mind when packing clothes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Attractions: Live 3 miles from access to Lake Superior.
    Live 30 min from historical Duluth. Duluth has a vibrant music and art scene.
    We know of and have access to many hiking trails.
    Local brewhouse (Castle Danger) had very good beer.

    Length of stay: 1 week to 2 months

    How many can stay = 1 or 2 people (if together, only 1 guest room)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 939847667233