Join our friendly family in a lively village with great community in Wylam, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Beautiful Northumberland in the Tyne valley near Newcastle upon Tyne and Hadrian's Wall in the United Kingdom. We have a big family home but a smaller family now the oldest has moved away & the middle child is due to go to University in september. The house is sustainably heated through a Biomass boiler. We need help maintaining the house and large garden. Some heavy tasks in the garden required.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a friendly British family in a lively village with a great community. There are lots of community activities each week. There are public transport links to Newcastle where there are language schools, if the workawayers want to study English. There are local walking and cycling groups to meet British people. Our family are keen cyclists with bikes available if the workawayers want to explore the area by bike.

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks will include help stacking wood for the Biomass boiler, help clearing an area in the garden and general gardening. There may be some cleaning or organising duties around the home.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Mike is learning Italian and would be keen to practice. Euan is keen to keep up his German,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a double bedroom with an ensuite shower room and television. Excellent WiFi. Mike (aged 63), Leah (aged 17) and Euan (aged 20) at home full time. Su (aged 52) works away in Scotland some of the time. Su is a great cook and loves to cook and feed everyone when she is home, but when she is away the Workawayers likely to need to cook for themselves / help make family meals. Plenty of shops + pubs + cafes + restaurants in the village.
    Large garden and hot-tub.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a village called Wylam about 10 miles from Newcastle upon Tyne. The river Tyne runs through the village and Wylam is decribed as one of the most beautiful villages in the Tyne valley. There are buses and trains to Newcastle and other villages and towns locally through the day. It is a tourist area with Roman archaeology nearby and Hadrian's Wall. We also have the Northumbria National Park and the beautiful Northumbria coast and beaches a short distance away.
    For more information on the area try looking up Hadrianswallcountry & visit Northumberland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 938745927962