Digging pruning chopping and general garden stuff! and enjoy life in a small traditional village in the Pyrenees, France

Country

France

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,
    We live in the Pyrenees in a small traditional village. We've lived here for 15+years our boys were educated here and are now grown up, working and left home! the house is a chambre d'hôte but not on a grand scale, we have 2 dogs and cats that roam contentedly about the garden, and it is this that I would love for someone to help with👍🏻. Shaun has no interest in the creating or upkeep, and I'm only a novice at creating areas, I'd like someone to share a thought and we could follow it through, I can't afford expensive plants and trees but I love to forage in the surroundings for plants and inspirations. I have an overgrown vegetable garden that's an embarrassment to me but........
    The area is touristic (for good reason, as the Tour de France visit every year, prehistoric caves, wild countryside, skiing, hiking, pilgrim routes, etc) we love to bike and hike, and the odd day in our nabouring country Spain.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Obviously we're English, so learning the native French language is not great! (You'll end up with an awful accent..) but the village is completely traditional, and it still has a bar to enjoy the local banter and traditions.
    Our B&B guests are mainly French from all over the country, that's how I maintain my language skills and gain knowledge of France's cultures. If you love to cycle then where better?
    Walks are surrounding us, there are so many lovely places to explore here.

  • Help

    Help

    Ok, I think that you need to probably be quite physical, due to digging pruning chopping and general garden stuff! I'm ok with all of this too so will work along side you.
    We have garden equipment, so to be able to use a mower, chainsaw, strimmer and of course a trusty spade!
    If I'm full with guests the help is always welcome.
    Shaun is a builder but help with home projects could be useful too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in a beautiful bedroom with your own bathroom. It is within the main house (Chambred'hote) we have made our own accomodation within the house but as a separate appartment.
    There is an appartment that if not in use could be made available to you, it will depend on the time of year.
    You will have the kitchen mainly to yourself, I only use it for the guests. (In the main house)
    We will provide you with the ingredients for your meals but won't cook them all' of the time.
    I think independence is important for us all, we don't want you to feel 'smothered' but we are social and like a chat after the days deeds with a glass of wine.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you love the country, and want to explore these mountains, great! We have a tent if you want to disappear for a few days, the Atlantic coast is just 2 hours away, Lourdes is in the next valley, have a look at the area via tourist info "vallee D'Aure.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 938164992876