Help on a small organic farm, between Lyon and Dijon, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 619 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm Swiss origin and i'm running this little guesthouse village and somehow also community already more then 25 years. my passion is construction work, but also growing everything selves to eat. There are a lot of animals here like chickens, horses, donkeys, dogs, cats, parrots and honey bees. this beautiful place is builded up by myself with a lot of love and of course also with the help of many other nice hands. always new ideas, let this place growing and developing more and more.
    there is a Hugh garden for vegetables and many fruit trees.
    The latest Project was the Pyramid. it was build with the same proportions like the cheops Pyramid. It is a magic place now for greenhouse and events. the last winter we finished the new pizzeria with a wood fire. a beautiful place to be together and eat a wonderful pizza with a glas of red wine :-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    the cultural exchange is very important here on this place. we eat together with our guests, we play games and sometimes music together. the workawayers have acess to the hot tube and also to the Himalaya sauna.
    workawayers can learn here about chinese medicine, about a health nutrition, about ecological gardening.
    we make excursions to interesting places. We discuss about the world, sometimes we have events together.

  • Help

    Help

    this place is a small organic farm in Burgundy between Lyon and Dijon. the village is called Montpont en Bresse, but the place is located about 5 km outside the village. Fields and forests are neighbours :-) This makes it to a very quiet and romantic place.

    i'm running different projects on this farm.

    there is a huge garden which needs lots of attention the most time of the year. The garden is just for our self and the volunteers, nothing is to sell

    there are five guest houses for seminars, holidays, family meetings and so one.
    there is every week a cleaning woman engaged to prepare the houses for the next guests.
    workawayers are not involved in the cleaning process.

    the workawayers are involved in ecologic gardening (the whole year) , the general maintenance of the farm, like cutting grass, painting, building a new greenhouse (soon), building a hobbit house (soon), making fire wood, helping by the work with the honey bees, taking care for the animals and many other nice things.


    my dream is to transforme this beautiful place more and more to a seminar place.


    there is a sauna and hot tube as well for groups and us.
    so workaway people can use this wonderful jacuzzi and the sauna.

    All the houses are heated by woodern ovens.

    Not to forget the animals.
    there are about 50 Chickens, they donate us with lovley tasting eggs. Their Stabel must be cleand from time to time.
    Bees provide us with their sweet honey. Spring time is the most busy time when we have to catch the Beeswarms. And two times in the year we make the honey.
    the Donkeys and Icelandic horses are gazing on the field. They are wild and have not been tamed.
    i have 2 Bernese Mountain Dog, lots of birds like parrots for examble, lovley cats (hopefully baby cats soon), rabits and guinea pigs.
    in a hug birdhouse are living our parrots and parakeets.

    soon starts a nice new project. i would like to build a hobbit house with straw and clay.


    if you like my profile than don't hesitate to contact me. So we can exchange our expectations and propose you a place in this community.

    Hope to see you soon

    Philippe



    Ach, not to forget, my nativ language is german. i'm an expert in French, Italian and Icelandic as well. of course also English.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    there is a House for the helpers. It is a part of an typical burgundy farmer house. You will have your own furnitured room there. You might share the kitchen and bathroom with other Volunteers.
    Normaly we have lunch togehter and you prepare breakfast and dinner on your own.
    all meals and a place to sleep are offered. I do not offer alcohol or tabac. We are almost vegetarian. exception sometimes we can eat one of our cocks. we all know how as terrible the animals are treated in the world, so we dont want to support
    this shame.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Louhans is the next small village with a Train station and Bus Station. Chalon sur saone, Macon and Lons le saunier are ca. 40 Km away.
    The beautiful Jura is about 40 min away and of cours wine areas with the famous burgundy winyards.
    You can do hikes or bicycle tours directly from our farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

garden work in spring
catching a swarm
one of the bedrooms for you

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.4)
















Host ref number: 937147825925