Come and work beside us in our Blue Mountains Permaculture paradise in New South Wales, Australia



Favourited 46 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We have recently taken over a very run down property in the Blue Mountains and are beginning a Permaculture garden. However, it needs quite a lot of work. The orchard, vegetable garden, herb garden all need seasonal weeding. Fruit & vegies need to be harvested. The Greenhouse needs monitoring as well as managing the composts and wood bins. We also are listed as a Conservation area so we need help with clearing the bushland of weeds so that the natural bushland can regenerate. We prefer a couple or three close friends who will stay in our own separate guest accommodation with private bathroom and kitchen and a separate entry. These people need to be strong and able to carry out heavy work. We will train them and educate them in Permaculture and sustainable living practices, preferably over evening meals when they will join us. We are a strictly non-smoking household and that includes the surrounding garden. We can cater for vegetarians and vegans. No pets allowed. We are within 15 mins walk to the Blackheath village and we can pick you up from the Blackheath railway station which is also a short 25-30 min walk from our place. There are of course many bush walks and outstanding views in our locality and one of them is just down the street. Blackheath in the Blue Mountains is an extraordinarily beautiful area, with stunning bushwalks and vistas. We are an older couple, 69 & 70 years old but full of energy and enthusiasm for our new venture. We hope to share our extensive Permaculture knowledge with enthusiastic helpers. Here are some photos of us and of our place and some recent building projects. We look forward to hearing from you soon. BTW Eva is a native German speaker originally from Berlin, so if any German workers need help with English, Eva can translate! It also gives her a chance to practice her German! Check out the latest photos of our piece of paradise. We have a natural pure spring that flows down to a fern filled glade. We invite you to come and work beside us and establish a permaculture paradise!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about how permaculture is practiced in the Blue Mountains and what it is to live so close to our precious Australia bushland and its wildlife. We could learn about your culture and your language.

  • Help


    We mainly need help with weeding and preparing the garden for fruit and vegetables, as well as help with building projects such as our compost bins, wood bins, greenhouse and pergola and trellises for our Kiwi fruit and grape vines. The bushland which is part of our 8 acre (3.2Ha) property also needs clearing of holly, ivy and honeysuckle which are environmental weeds of the Blue Mountains bushland.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German

  • Accommodation


    In self-contained accommodation attached to the main house. You will have your own bathroom and small kitchen and separate entry however, we prefer to share evening meals together. Eva will do the food preparation but you're welcome to join in and teach us about your cuisine. We will provide all the food..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The World Heritage listed Blue Mountains offers great opportunities for bushwalking, hiking, climbing, abseiling, rock climbing and the start of many of the most beautiful walks are only a few minutes down the road.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    6 hours per day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 936777425674