Seeking help with a stunning House and Garden project creating an Arts Centre in the Charante near Angouleme , France



Favourited 67 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    57.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 22 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Fine Artist and teacher, Designer and Costume specialist seek help with a stunning House and Garden project in the Charante near Angouleme .The house has an amazing history from the early 19thc with a wealth of original features, and we are trying to maintain a period look .We hope the house can become an Arts Centre and or a living Museum to show the beauty and aesthetics of the objects and artifacts left in the house. This includes a carriage, which needs some restoration although the horses are long gone!

    We are both working in the Arts and need help with decorating rooms,,painting furniture and shutters and a broad spectrum of creative work .We also are looking for people who may have some basic electrical or plumbing skills and can help us with turning the house into a stunning Charleston -Bloomsbury house of South West France .
    The garden also requires help with planting and organizing and there is a vast barn that needs organizing,with a massive amount of fire -wood to be cut and stored .

    We are in a quiet small village with a baker and restaurant and the nearby town of Ruffec with its SNCF Railway Station only 4 miles away with its cafes and restaurants.
    There are 5 bicycles for use for many beautiful Romanesque Churches, wildlife and countryside to explore in the area. The Charentese climate is the 2nd best micro climate in France.

    We are English, but do speak French! I work at the Royal Opera House in Costume and Alistair is an Artist who teaches Art, graphics and photography. We are well travelled and I have worked in theatres and opera houses from Milan to Shanghai.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will be sharing our artistic skills which include gold leafing, costume, all aspects of Fine art, painting and drawing in all medias, and art History.

    Stay in a magnificent French property

    Easy train links to Angoulême, historic Poitiers, cognac, La Rochelle. Bordeaux is a 35 minute tgv journey and Paris 2.5 hours.

  • Help


    We would like to create a green house from old windows and raised vegetable patch with old beams. Hoping to have chickens we need help to renovate the hen house.

    We would like some help with creating Artist studios in the Barn, including restoration on the 19th spectacular carriage and a wonderful Jacques Louis David -Death of Marat Bath c.1840.

    Lots of interior paint work and gloss. Painting walls and shutters in the house

    We also need someone who enjoys cooking for everyday meals and entertaining
    We want to create a living museum with all the fantastic found artifacts, original clothing, books, periodicals and social history treasures which celebrate and maintain the history of the past occupants and families who have lived there for over 200 years .

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Accommodation


    There are 2 Bedrooms with en-suite and 2 bedrooms without. We will provide sheets, bedding, towels, WiFi and BBC satellite TV. There is a large selection of DVDs, Blu-ray, CDs and books.

    All meals provided - Breakfast lunch and supper with wine or beer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the time off our helpers can explore the surrounding villages countryside full of wildlife spectacular views and historic buildings. There are many local markets, brocants, cafes, bars, live music and of course canoeing on the Charent.

    There are local buses and trains to Angouleme where connections can be made with the fantastic tgv trains.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 935752382479