Property in the Beautiful Tablelands of north NSW, Australia and experience living off grid

Country

Australia

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/06/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    4 seasons, clean clear skys, Solar passive hemp home, bell tent,

    We are a small family living on 7 acres of regenerating grasslands in the outskirts of Tenterfield in the beautiful New England Tablelands. We are a family of a Mum and two small children 9 & 12, they attend the local primary school and I work on completing my hemp house, teach Yogalates at a local hall, and I run a small hemp clothing business (which is currently on hold due to house building demands) .

    We welcome positive people who are happy to stay in the self contained Bell tent accommodation. Electricity, wifi, 2 normal size single beds (and 2 smaller size on the floor single beds). Heater, fire pit. Basic cooking. But access to washing machine. Composting toilet.

    Its set up to be comfy through winter. I spent a year through the winter in the tent with 2 children and we were warm enough with the heater on over night. There is all bed linen and hot water bottles, towels all provided.

    People who are willing to help with: land activities, some handy man jobs, Lifting, assisting with some 'two people' jobs that I can't do by myself, digging holes, spreading mulch, moving soil, planting seedlings, rending of hemp house.

    My property is 2km west of Tenterfield with views north/ north east over the distant hills and Tenterfield. Its in bike riding distance to town and I can always assist if pick up or drop off to town is required.

    We head off somewhere new every month, but are generally busy at home completing the build.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learning how to Living sustainably and off grid, mulching, gardening, using greywater on the land, setting up the main buildings and completing them. The main house is made from hemp masonry (hempcrete) which is still in construction with still things to be completed. Learning to render and seal a hemp house. Composting, basic garden set up and maintaining the land. Please also refer to the main description. Im also a home herbalist and make all my home products and this information will be freely shared if you are interested. I also have my own design and sewing space where i run my hemp clothing business and can teach how to make clothes if you are interested. The business is not in full swing right now due to finishing the house build but I can spend time teaching showing and sharing my lifetime knowledge on sewing/fashion and hemp.

  • Help

    Help

    Some things that are planned over the coming year:
    Building a basic water pump house. (its very small)
    Native tree plantings, mulching, watering
    Rending of hemp house, and completion
    Hole digging for food and herb garden
    Mulching of already planted trees
    mowing
    Painting of Ceiling
    Moving the composting toilet.
    Garden maintenance & creating new ones
    fixing/cleaning up three bikes
    Cleaning up and neatening the property in general.
    Putting up some small wind protection barriers, independent and attached to shed.
    Installing insulation and gyprock/sheeting in the colourbond shed.
    installing my very simple solar hot water system on the main house.
    Trying to set up fencing to run some sort of farm animals.

    Help with all or some of these will be very welcome!

    Our place is off grid, on solar, and tank water.

    Require 15 hours of work a week, includes accommodation, wifi, water, electricity. Food not provided as we have very specific diets. I will make sure that the food prep is as easy as possible for yourselves.

    1-2 week stay preferred

    Please enquire about long term arrangements which are available.

    Look forward to hearing from you.
    Thank you

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    basic bed access to all amenities, shower and composting toilet.Either a bell tent or the bed in the shed with fire and heater. these are both away from the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is around 900m above sea level, 3 hour drive to Byron Bay and The Gold coast. (including the airport)
    Tenterfield has 4 distinct seasons with wonderful national parks near by with rock climbing, and walking tracks and camping places. Bald Rock National Park is one of the biggest Granite mountains. Its a winery area also and a small town of around 4500 people with great cafes, pubs and a bar. all basic amenities and my property is 2km to town, in easy bike riding distance. Cooler in winter and certainly can be 10 degrees cooler than lower areas and coastal areas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15 hours/week per person preferably - no food provided

Host ref number: 934759863415