Handyperson or language help in semi-rural Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    It's just me - an irritatingly pedantic fizisist (and spelling rebel!) pushing 60. I retain a strong interest in science but have become more and more of an environmentalist as I have aged. I have been a Greenpeace supporter and a climate change activist for many years. I lead a healthy minimalist outdoor lifestyle and have an equally healthy destain for the extravagance and self-indulgence of modern society. Paradoxical as it may seem for such a minimalist, I have a variety of quirky properties which need restoration, development, maintenance or all three. There are some buildings some gardens and some woodland mostly in Carmarthenshire for I which have numerous half-baked projects and nothing like enough time or pairs of hands.

    I choose not to own a vehicle, so I can't take you anywhere or pick you up. I cycle or take my bike on the train and I can lend you a bike if you want to do the same. I'm not vegetarian as I eat lots of fish but I generally avoid red-meat. I try to find the time to grow at least some of my own food and I have a small orchard which this year is bursting with fruit to share with workawayers.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'm a stranger to kulcher, myself, but there is plenty of Welshness around here. This is also a good base for exploration. It's a short train ride to the gorgeous coastline going south or to pretty towns and the wild mountains going north. Stay on the southbound train to go to the bright lights of Swansea. The Brecon Beacons National Park is a short bike ride away and I have bikes of various shapes and sizes. If you want to learn any building skills or aspects of physics or engineering, I might be able to help, provided that you are not already too clever!

  • Help

    Help

    I have two entirely separate requirements. One is for building, labouring, decorating, gardening, forestry or carpentry around the properties.

    El otro es practicar mi Castellano terrible porque intento pasar unas meses del invierno en España. (Mirar a continuación)

    For a short stay the physical jobs would include helping to patch and paint internal walls or clearing overgrown areas of garden or laying paths. If you have particular skills or wish to stay longer to learn some, you can join me in more complex internal renovations or in building a timber workshop or in transplanting hedging and trees. There are numerous jobs from which we can pick-and-choose to suit most tastes and temperaments.

    Para la ayuda a aprender castellano, sugero que visitarámos las atraciónes locales en bici y tren hablando en la mayoria castellano. Otros días puedo ayudarte con Inglés.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double bedroom with en-suite toilet and shower in a modern (but, of course, minimalist) bungalow. In your lifestyle while here you will be encouraged to be mindful of the depletion of the resources of the planet. You can sit in the garden if the weather is good or wander about in the adjoining woodland. You are welcome to share my crude meals but I doubt that you will want to. Porridge with a selection of usually seasonal fruit is always available. I bake bread a few times a week and if you twist my arm I might bake something that is not wholemeal. As I've mentioned above, main meals often consist of fish, occasionally chicken, once in a blue moon game, with seasonal mushrooms and vegetables. One such evening meal will be provided each day and can be had with pasta or rice or potatoes. I'll attempt something tasty for vegetarians but don't expect too much! The town has pretty much everything else you might need and is a short walk away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    around 20 hours per week

Host ref number: 934559644448