Help needed around the home/garden in Tabernas, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our profile has changed over the years. We are now a small family of 4 adults three of us into our 70s. We have a large house over 3 floors.

    Although some in the household smoke they don't generally smoke

    Our house is on a plot of 20000 sqr metres and grows mainly weeds. There is a garden area with pool. We are on the edge of the Tabernas Desert with unbelievable views. We are about a 30 minute walk to the village where there is all the usual amenities.

    We need help in the garden. Loads of weeding, tree planting in the autumn and spring.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a very beautiful but rugged part of Spain. This is the area that the old Westerns were made and more recently Exodus. Our volunteer will be able to walk along the dry riverbeds to Fort Bravo scene of many of the westerns. Many backpackers walk along these dry riverbeds so a great opportunity to meet new friends. Walk up the hills and enjoy the flora and fauna. This area is great for artists and nature lovers. Visit the old castle in Tabernas. The area is rich in history with many Moorish buildings still can be seen. Any skills I have with soap making ect I am happy to share.

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks are mainly cleaning and weeding. Our house is large built over three floors.

    As long as the time is put in you can choose your own hours.

    I make my own soap and candles and potpourri from natural produce, scented drawer sachets to my skills. I enjoy trying/working with different media I would be pleased to share these skills and would appreciate an exchange of ideas.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A caravan for sleeping, privacy and own pursuits. Shower, toilet and kitchen is in the house. Breakfast and lunch is on a help yourself basis. The food is there for you. Drinks such as tea, coffee, water can be had at anytime just help yourself. A cooked meal is provided in the evening, or ingredients to make your own. You are welcome to interact with the family at any time. Typically sausage and mash, casserole, burger and chips, roast chicken and salads. Fresh fruit and vegetables always available. I do ask that you clean up after yourself especially in the kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers can explore the desert on foot or go for a trek on the horse. Visit the castle in the village it's about a 30 minute walk but there is usually some one going to the village so you can havea lift. There is an hourly bus to the city of Almeria for shopping, touristy things and the beach and port for ferry to Africa. The caves in Sorbas are worth a visit.


    This placement is suitable for a couple who can work without constant supervision. We encourage input from our helpers about the land, vegetation and appropriate landscaping.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is a large lounge for use with plenty of sockets and a good wifi connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is lots of room for campervan. Own private space if requested.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Willing to accept o e well behaved dog or horse. Csts are a problem as my dog loves to chase them. The dog would not be allowed inside the house (my dig might not like it) but the caravan with a large awning makes it a home from home for you and your pet. There is a large field for a horse but you would gave to rig up some shade.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (3.5)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 932853769423