Cooking and cleaning and Pet sitting a puppy and a kitty in the suburbs of Rabat, Morocco

Country

Morocco

Favourited 102 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! My name is Monica!
    I was born in Romania but my parents moved to Quebec when I was nine. I think I always knew that it wasn't the place for me so after a trip to Morocco, where I fell in love with the country, I decided that it was here I wanted to call home.
    I've now been living here for almost a year and a half and adopted two strays, Kayla a golden hound (that's what I decided her breed was because I have no idea) and Olivia a little monster cat that loves to eat and will snatch food right from your plate if you're not paying attention. She can be very sweet though when she wants to.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I was also once a tourist so I guess I can share a lot of tourist insight about places worth visiting, activities, restaurants. My Darija (the Moroccan dialect) isn't great but I can teach you all the basics to get around.

  • Help

    Help

    Cooking
    Cleaning
    Walking my doggy, Kayla

    I would also love to take a couple of days to go visit a friend in Italy, so ideally I would love to find somebody that feels comfortable taking care of a cat and a dog, so I can leave them here while i'm gone. My cat is a little ninja and tries to escape with every opportunity she gets so you would have to be careful. I've always lived in buildings and as much as I would love for her to have a garden where she can play and explore, for now she's an indoor cat and would freak out and be very disoriented in the outside world.

    I'm laid back with the schedule and tasks. I just need some help with the daily chores so I can free up some time for my personal projects. I've been working on a photography book and art prints and have so many things I would like to get done!

    I mostly eat vegetables and legumes from local markets. I don't like buying at supermarkets. For the food prep any big batch of food made with the seasonal produce we have here, that we can just reheat when we're hungry would be amazing. And smoothies!!!

    I have two inconveniences. I don't have wifi at home but buying a sim card and data for your phone is pretty cheap here.
    And I don't have hot running water. I plan on moving soon from this apartment so I don't want to invest in a water heater. There are hammams in every neighbourhood and some even have private showers. It's a cool experience! If you're not into that however what I do when I don't feel like going to my gym for a shower, is heat water in a big pot and use that. OR if you're into cold showers!
    So because of this, I would only ask for 16 hours a week instead of the 25hours.

    Also because I live in a somewhat small space and don't have too much work available, ideally I could only host for 1-2 weeks.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Romanian: Fluent
    Arabic: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A little comfy bed in the living room

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in Salé, around 30-45 min walking distance from the touristic area of Rabat and also 2 minutes away from the old medina(fortified old city) of Salé and around 5min away from the ocean.
    The waves are stunning in this area but there is no beach, only small cliffs. Both Rabat and Salé have a beach, but not as nice as the ones further away from the city. There is a bus that brings to Plage des Nations, which is very pretty and only around 30min away.

    There are also buses and taxis to go to Rabat that pass pretty much every 5 minutes and they only cost 5dirhams(50cents). Ohh and actually even little boats for 2.5dhs that cross the river but they're a bit further from my place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    16 hours a week




Host ref number: 931663392179