Stay in an Irish farmstead in the heart of Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    96

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a rural area near the river Shannon. We have a farm and I have a small bread making business. But I have little time for gardening and general tidying up. My husband and I live on the farm and our adult son lives close by. We work hard but try to enjoy a little down time as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a rural area close to a small town so there isn't a lot of activity in the area. We are close to the Shannon river. If anyone needs to practise their English there will be lots of opportunity but they would have to have a basic vocabulary. They would have the experience of living with an Irish family and enjoying our way of life

  • Help

    Help

    Painting as well as those listed above. We are farming so there are lots of different Jobs to be done. There is lots of gardening to be done , window cleaning. Because there is lot of work going on there is little time left for doing the least important tasks

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double room it's a big house with 5 bedrooms so lots of space. Private sitting room if required with TV included. Towels etc provided

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a rural area as already stated so there is not a huge amount of sporting facilities in the area. The river is two km away. The mountains .. Walking are 20 km away. There is public transportation available but times are limited but it would rarely be a problem to drop people to bus or train.

    I have no previous experience with volunteers. We live a busy type of life. I have a small bread making business . My husband is a dairy farmer and works with one of our sons. We would expect the volunteers to just help out where needed and where they are willing to help.
    We would like to get someone as soon as possible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 931551244394