Help us to take care of our animals in rural Dordogne, France

Country

France

Favourited 85 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2021

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Happy household in a rural rustic location in Dordgne, France.
    We have a large garden, an old house, a lake, fencing, etc.
    We love to meeting new people and can always do with help with the above (both projects and maintenance).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a happy English speaking family who have spent many years in France and know all the local areas of interest, there is always something to learn from this rural escape as we try and do all our maintenance on our own.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    To enjoy being here you need to like:
    - children & animals
    - other people & time alone

    The help here is varied and can be anything from mowing the grass to pointing the house, along side the care to our adorable, very patient animals.

    Animals include:
    - 4 equines (3 middle-aged, 1 shetland)
    - 3 cats
    - 2 dogs
    - 1 rabbit
    - 1 parrot
    - 2 chickens
    - 3 guinea pigs

    We can be away at times and would need helpers to be happy house-sitting also.

    In general helpers help about 20 hours a week, but in a very flexible way,

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Rural France, the Dordogne.
    We do not expect people to share a bedroom unless they arrive as such (couples or friends), we also have a caravan for those which wish to have a more private stay.
    We provide all the food ( 3 meals a day) but do expect help with prep/ cooking of the lunch and evening meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local activities & sights range from walking, hiking, cycling, canoeing and swimming to prehistoric caves and medieval chateaux, there is a train station 6 miles away which we pass twice a day mid week or you are more than welcome to cycle there.
    We are a happy household, interests are varied with learning going both ways, whether that is a new mechanical skill or a song from your native country all are welcomed.
    We do expect helpers to be happy and open people who leave the home as they found it and engage fully in the experience.
    Lastly, non-smokers preferred (horses, hay, straw, children...).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 929742923956