Combine gardening work with language exchange in a Southern England Homestay

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 176 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name's Anthony, I'm from England and I've been living in Hampshire since October 2014. I'm offering Homestay opportunities in 2020 for someone who is friendly, likes to help people and is aged around 18 to 30. The house is large (4 bedrooms) and has a big garden of almost one acre. There's a single room available for you, with a study area and nice views over the countryside. If English is not your first language then I am happy to help with English practice. I also speak fluent Spanish and I have a very basic knowledge of French, Italian and Catalan.

    There's a variety of work to do here; most of it involves garden maintenance and I'm especially keen to hear from anyone who has ideas about garden design. There may also be some building work to do so it helps if you're reasonably active and don't mind getting your hands dirty. When the weather's too bad for garden work there are usually things to catch up on indoors and I'm always happy to have people stay here if they are obsessive-compulsive cleaners.... :) Also, you don't have to be either LGBT+ or vegetarian to stay here but I'm gay so if you're homophobic or narrow-minded then it's not for you.

    The working hours / days are very flexible. The house is in the countryside but I have a car and I can help with transport to the nearest railway stations (Alton and Basingstoke) or to the coach stop in Basingstoke. There are lots of walks and country pubs and the house has a bicycle you can use to explore the area. If you can play a piano then there is one here. There is a reasonably good Internet, with wireless connections for laptops and smartphones. Usually people stay 2 weeks at a time but this is flexible too. I'm new here on Workaway but I have had 10 out of 10 positive reviews on on another similar volunteering website, so feel free to enquire and ask any questions you may have.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Happy to host both British and non-British workawayers. I can help with conversational practice in either English or Spanish. If you are from outside the UK then you may like to learn a little about the British way of life; we love our tea breaks. I am open-minded, with no strong political or spiritual views. I have a love of nature and a relaxed way of life.

  • Help

    Help

    Garden work / garden design / cutting grass / weeding / planting. Housework / help in the kitchen / cleaning. General maintenance / painting / organising.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single private room with a private study area. The main bathroom is shared but I have my own bathroom so the main one would be almost exclusively yours, depending on whether anyone else is staying. Food is mostly vegetarian / pescatarian but I'm happy to cook meat for you if you prefer. I've had people staying here who are lactose intolerant and that's ok because lactose-free milk is easily available but if you can't tolerate *️️any*️️ dairy products then it's complicated. Usually I have just one helper here at any time but if you're two people travelling with a campervan then there is plenty of room to park it. It's a non-smoking household so please no smokers.... or be prepared to smoke outside :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Local transport is limited but I can help where possible, see above. If you want to visit London there are direct trains from Alton with a journey time of 75 minutes. The nearest tourist attraction is "The Watercress Line", a heritage railway which does old-style steam powered train journeys between Alton and the pretty town of Alresford. Other nearby places of interest include Alton (Jane Austen connection), Portsmouth and Winchester. If you are from *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️outside*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ the UK or the EU please note that I can't sponsor people to obtain Visas from the UK Home Office.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 926383179484