Family looking for English speaker to have a cultural exchange in Yecla, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2020

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four, Jose Miguel, Carmen, Lucia and myself, Carmen. I'm a teacher in a Primary school, I teach English to children from preschool, when they are 3 to 5 years old (they are all lovely) and also I teach in Primary from 6 up to 11 years old. I enjoy my job!! I think that working with children is amusing, they are full of energy and eager to learn... I like teaching from the heart, and keeping close to their needs... My husband Jose Miguel works manufacturing furniture, he loves joking... In fact, we are very friendly. Our daughters, Carmen (14) and Lucia (11) are very good girls, I feel lucky of having such nice daughters. They love playing board games, doing crafts, listening to music, dancing, and now they start cooking,... since they watched a TV programme called "master chef", they like practising different recipes in our kitchen.
    We live in Yecla (Murcia) in the South of Spain. We are quite near Alicante and its beaches, about 1 hour, when the weather is nice we love going to the beach either in Alicante or even to Almeria (where you can find really nice natural beaches). We are also 1 hour and a half from Valencia.

    We are looking for a young girl (up to 19), english as a mother language, who likes playing board games, doing crafts, cooking, like being familiar and can help us a bit.
    We need some help in the house, especially cooking, we can teach you Spanish recipes, like Spanish omelette,... and in general in the house we all cooperate to keep it tidy and clean. What I especially would like is that you focus your attention on Carmen and Lucia to speak English to them, they would love to play with you anytime. You will have plenty of free time in the mornings, in the afternoons you may stay with Lucia and Carmen and sometimes do some activities you like. to help cook the dinner. As they are old enough you don't need to do any babysitting, but perhaps play with them.
    We are member of a tennis club, where there is a gym, you will be able to go for free and practice some sport in the gym. Or even if you would like to try, you could come with me to the school and speak to the children or participate in any activity you may find interesting.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would like her to know our culture and way of living. In Yecla, when a person from another country arrives, he/she is always very welcome, everybody is opened to that person... We are also a very big family, and are very familiar, we are always meeting for big meals, and we enjoy it a lot, since my husband has 5 sisters and 2 brothers, I have a sister and 2 brothers,.. She could also learn not only our traditions, but also our gatronomy which is quite interesting. There are also some Spanish courses taking place here, because there are about 5 or 6 students from other countries living here.

  • Help

    Help

    She will have the mornings free (from 9.00 to 13.00), help us prepare the lunch meal and stay at home in the afternoon to play or just talk with my daughters in english and help with the dinner and a bit of housework. We all collaborate on it. We would like to find a person who feels like at home, as if she were another daughter, we would like to form bonds with her.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own bedroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are different activities you may join in: Athletics, basketball, volleyball, tennis,... dancing classes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 926121693113