Help out with various jobs at our Cumbrian Home, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 164 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    218

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of five. Three home schooled children 12, 10 & 5. This means that the house is full of life pretty much every day. We are especially keen on guests that may have a skill that they would be willing to share with us all - music and language lessons (Spanish or German) would be particularly welcome. We live in a 4 bedroom farm house in a quiet rural corner of North Cumbria. It is quite a distance from everything here - a blessing we think, it allows lots of space and peace for thinking. The sky is dark at night allowing for great star gazing opportunities around an open fire in the garden. We have easy access to the surrounding countryside. So a great place to stay if you enjoy time outdoors - though it is cosy and warm indoors!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoying sharing our culture, traditions and food with our guests. Many of our guests have joined us on days out. Visiting museums, nature reserves and walks in the country side. Lots of the kids "Education" happens outdoors. So there are plenty of opportunities to visit different areas of the county.

  • Help

    Help

    The children are really enjoying learning language and music, cooking your favourite dishes are always welcome - we really do want you to be a part of our family whilst you stay with us.
    We try to either all eat together or eat as an adult group later in the evening if this suits better. Our food is generally cooked fresh and does not include much processed food. We eat quite a bit of vegetarian food and salad in our diet. Alcohol is for guests to bring with themselves (we do not provide alcohol). You are welcome to join us on days out - we are approx 1 hour from the Lake District, 45min from Newcastleton for mountain bike lovers (7 Stanes) and half an hour from Hadrian's Wall.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, Some very basic French/German/Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A choice of a tent in the garden or a room in the house. The bedroom is sizeable / it does double as my office - though only a few hours a week & always by agreement. We are a non smoking household and as such do not allow smoking guests, this includes the use of e-cigarettes and vaporisers. We have a friendly cat living with us. The wifi here is not super fast & if you wish to use it we would appreciate a contribution towards the cost of £5 per week.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are about 5 miles from the nearest town / shops. It would be ideal for guests with their own transport - we could provide bikes to ride around locally. There are wonderful walks near the house. There is a cafe approx 2 miles along the road.

    We are a family that wants to make the most of every guest stay - working together to share skills and experiences. I am a qualified outdoor instructor and happy to share my skills with you too. This is probably not the stay for you if you want peace and quiet all day. The children are keen to learn from others. Always asking questions, watching and joining in with jobs. They love to share their passions too. So lots of opportunity to chat and share the joy of what we are doing together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week - Though also expect help with meals & tidying up after meals each day.









Host ref number: 925922314144