Stay at an Eco farm by a magical forest in Eastern Bulgaria 10 km from the sea

Country

Bulgaria

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello friend,

    we are a young Bulgarian couple, I (Simeon, 28) and my partner Pamela (27), and we would love you to be the next helping and cheerful volunteer at The Farm & Forest our family-ran eco project.

    *️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️Please read everything below BEFORE contacting us*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️

    Let us introduce ourselves before we tell you more about our project. I am a native Bulgarian, who spent 5 years in the UK where I graduated with a Law degree and practised for a couple of years before returning to homeland. Upon returning I studied for a Master's degree in Psychology, which I am quite keen on. I have quite a bit of experience in people management, but have taken up lots of different new skills and interests in the last few years. Currently I am a freelancer, working for multiple clients from Bulgaria and around the world.

    Pamela is a Fashion Design graduate from a university in Sofia, currently working part-time to help a friend develop one of the best bio-shops in Varna. She is quite a good artist and is responsible for all decorations and design decisions at home. Photography is a passion for her and something she truly has an eye for.

    We run a small farm enterprise comprising of 2 hectares of forest and gardens, with evenly split area. We rent out caravans and sell the food we produce in the field. Pamela (my partner) and I run the whole thing by ourselves. We grow almost all the food we consume and could always use a helper in the garden, for our building projects or for an art endeavour.

    We kicked off the project in the autumn of 2018, however we have owned the farmland for 15 years. We recently purchased the adjacent forest and intend to create a beautiful place for people and families with caravans, campers or tents, people who look to spend time in nature, meditate, do sports or just help with the work on a real family-ran eco farm.

    Starting in the spring of 2019, we will have a hectar of farmland that should cater food for the needs of our entire family, all our guests and even have some left to sell at the market.

    Our business plan envisages the development of multiple activities and types of production in both the forest and the farm. We have TWO NATURAL SPRINGS coming from under the roots of huge old trees, providing the whole parcel with clean, drinkable water.

    We would like to make use of the small canyon that runs around the forest, as the river can be restarted from the springs.

    We are looking to expand our farm further into the forest, build a few wooden houses and a few platforms for meditation and yoga.

    You must be ok with animals if you are visiting, as we have a small, really friendly dog, two cats, another bigger dog and a handful a chickens.

    We are happy to meet people from all over the world and exchange ideas and spend wonderful moments working the fields and the forest together. We do love music, books and deep conversations about the Universe and its properties, so open-minded people who have stories to share are especially welcomed. We do enjoy talking about business too and trade ideas with others.

    No matter what religion or culture you come from, what age or gender, what sexuality you have, as long as you are a good and polite person, we are happy to get to know you and let you in our home.

    Since you read up to here you would know that you MUST include your arrival and departure (if known) dates, and length of stay in the subject line of your message to us. We would like to speak to each volunteer on Skype prior to arrival, just to make sure we are both happy with what each side can provide the other with, in terms of help and special requirements, should you have any.

    We will do our best to answer all messages, but please don't take it personally if we take a day or two to respond.

    Speak soon!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will be living in natural Bulgarian environment. You will get to try some of our traditional foods with most ingredients having grown in our gardens. You will learn a lot about agriculture, how food is produced and stored etc. You will also learn about small-scale wooden constructions and how to build tree houses. You will get a first-hand experience at what it's like to live just at the forest's edge and how to take care of a whole forest.

    You will learn a lot about the lifecycle of trees and smaller plants and their cultivation. We are happy to teach you about irrigation, utilising solar poler for electricity and just pretty much everything about living an off-grid life.

    You will spend a lot of time working alongside ourselves and that's a perfect time to tell your story and hear another's - it's all about sharing and rejoicing at life!

  • Help

    Help

    We are always looking for people with building and woodworking skills. We could also use some ideas for decorating the whole place.

    We also need lots of strong hands to pull dead wood from the forest, cut and pile it. We also need permanent ongoing help with clearing small bushes and trees in the forest and doing general maintenance.

    There is lots to do in the fields, if working the land is your thing. There's always tons of tasks onsite, so anyone who is willing to break a sweat and does not shy away from work is mostly welcome.

    There are paths to be built, weeds to be removed, things to be moved etc.

    Then we go and chill on the beach ^^

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Bulgarian, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers are welcome to stay in our tents or provide their own. If the caravans are available and not booked you can always stay there. Alternatively, if you prefer to have more comforts, we have a few big family houses 10 min walking from the forest and the farm. It's all up to you to tell us how you feel and whether you prefer a more natural environment or modern comfort.

    We are able to provide breakfast, lunch and dinner for free, but we do expect you to help us prepare the food and clean afterwards. We eat only clean food produced on the farm or bought from the village nearby. We do eat fish and chicken, but try to avoid red meats altogether. We are happy for guests to use our BBQ to cook steaks and sausages, no worries. Workawayers are free to use our cooking facilities and utensils to cook for themselves, as long as they clean everything after use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    For transportation, there are regular buses from the village nearby that can take you straight to town for 1 euro or less. But that's only plan B for when we are busy and unable to drive you places.

    We live just 10 minutes away from Bulgaria’s sea capital, where you can check out the beach bars, the museums, the marine park, go to the cinema or some other event and just explore. Or just go to the beach, you know - there are a bunch of them not too far from here.

    There are a bunch of small villages around us, too, where you can see how people live, talk to some locals and visit some nice forests and fields. There is a 10km route through the fields leading to the Black Sea. You can actually see the sea from the edge of our forest.

    We are happy to take you north to the Kaliakra Cape and show you this bit of the country on a weekend. There are beautiful restaurants serving fresh sea food and many incredible sites with views to the sea.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 925191631939