Help in our private home on the coast of Lourinha, Portugal

  • Favourited 758 times
  • Last activity: 22 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    Hello Workawayers!
    We are a couple living in a beautiful village near Lourinha, Portugal. We are 29 years old and have an awesome cat by the name of Joey. Life kept on bringing us to Portugal so we finally decided to move here some time ago. We left our country with a car full of things that we later stored and went camping for a few months. After that lifechanging experience we found a house that we loved and decided to move in. We are now studying and working remotely while enjoying the amazing surf and scenery in the area. Also, the majority of our free time is dedicated to Joey who is one of the most adventurous cats you will ever meet and loves to go explore new places on a leash. He is a very high-maintenance pet but we love maintaining him! Besides that, we love to share stories by the fireplace and watch movies or play board-games together so we are excited to host you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We loooove to host travelers because it's such a beautiful exchange! We love to talk, do things together and see how a visitor turns into a good friend. Also, we love cooking so we are happy to share some recipes and make food for you!
    Our house is just around the corner from the beach where you can take long walks and enjoy the sunny atmosphere. The waves here are amazing so you can also try surfing. We are positive open people and we are excited to meet you! We are also happy to help with any travel planning or local tips.

  • Help


    We need different type of help depending on the time of year:

    - JANUARY to APRIL: Because we live on the coast, the winters are super humid. That means there's a lot of maintaining to do every year. That includes cleaning and painting the walls, metal rails, tiles, repairing some furniture, sanding it and painting it and so on. In February and March specifically, we are looking for a couple that is skilled, can work together as a team and has some experience with painting walls and home renovations. We like to change our decor a little bit every year so we always need help with drilling holes into walls. If you are into arts and creative, you are welcome to leave your mark here :)

    - APRIL to OCTOBER: This is the time when the village fills up with local tourists and surfers. Also, this is the time when most of our friends and family comes to visit, so we need someone who can handle this and still do their tasks perfectly. During this time, we mostly need help with daily chores since we are also working and don't want to spend our free time cleaning. We need somebody that we can rely on to clean the house so it is spotless and that we don't need to check it after you've done it. The work is easy otherwise, it's just maintaining the bathrooms (checking the toilet paper, towels, cleaning the sink etc.), vacuuming the floor, mopping, dusting, taking out the trash, maybe even helping us prepare some food in the kitchen (when the whole family's visiting, it's a lot of kitchen time haha). We like cleanliness and we need someone precise to do it.

    - AUTUMN/WINTER MONTHS: Usually we do some general maintenance in the house and a lot of cleaning.

    - HELP TAKING CARE OF JOEY: No matter the period, Joey needs to be walked twice per day and usually our volunteers are responsible for the morning walks. We will show you everything you need to know and Joey will guide you himself. He is quite an early bird so usually he wakes up around 7am and expects to be walked around 7.30 so it does mean waking up early. Sometimes we also need help with giving him food but we will explain eveything. In the winter months we also foster kittens from the local association, giving them a temporary home while they wait to be adopted. The primary focus is taking care of all of their needs while trying to get them more used to humans and socialising them so our volunteers are welcome to spend time with them and give them some love. Being a cat lover is mandatory, so please do not contact us if you are allergic to cats.

    Overall, we are looking for someone open, creative, responsible, self-initiative and hard working. We prefer to host volunteers over 21 years old because it turned out that they are much more reliable. Also, we eat plant-based food so having a similar lifestyle is definitely a plus!! Include the word banana in your introduction message so we know you read our profile :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We offer accommodation in one of our rooms (in the summer you may have to share it with a friend or family member that's visiting) and breakfast plus one additional meal (we cook plant based and we looove to cook so you are of course invited to join).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small quaint village that gets quite lively in the summer with many bars, restaurants and places to hang out. Everything is close (the laundry place, the shop and the food market) and the beach is perfect for surfing or simply chilling in the sun. You can make some trips to neighbouring cities like Peniche or Obidos and there's also a frequent bus line going to Lisbon. Most of all, this area is perfect if you want to enjoy portuguese natural landscape, do some long walks on the beach and just spend some time with yourself. We fell in love here and we're sure you will too!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We are happy to host digital nomads, but we can't always promise a quiet space since the house is sometimes full of people when we host friends and family.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 925127139477

Feedback (10)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Collaborative project in Alentejo, Spain
Help out on our beautiful family land and enjoy peaceful life in São Teotónio, Portugal