House and dog-sitting in the beautiful Maracas Valley, Trinidad

Country

Trinidad and Tobago

Favourited 127 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Dog / House Sitting in beautiful Maracas Valley, Trinidad

    NOTE: Trinidad’s borders are currently closed, so this listing is only suitable for those currently in Trinidad or Tobago.

    We are Ian and Jenifer and we are looking for someone (or two) to look after our two rescue dogs and our home and for the month of November 2020. We are also workawayers, and have really enjoyed our experiences working on a farm in Italy and pet-sitting in the United Kingdom, and would love to give you the opportunity to enjoy our part of the world.

    We live in Maracas Valley, a quiet residential area in the foothills of the northern mountain range of Trinidad. We have a large veranda with beautiful views of the mountains to the north and the plains in central Trinidad. A perfect place to bbq or just relax. We are a short drive from shops, restaurants and bars. We are a 45 minute drive from Maracas Bay, one of the most beautiful beaches on the island. We are approximately 20km from Port of Spain, the capital city with an abundance of shops, restaurants, bars, entertainment, etc.

    Trinidad is the larger of the two islands making up the twin island Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, located at the southerly end of the English speaking Caribbean islands. Trinidad is one of the more adventurous Caribbean destinations, known for it's friendly people, rich culture and music, and diverse eco-activities (bird watching, hiking), etc. Tobago is quieter, with spectacular beaches.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will be able to experience the Caribbean culture through exploring the island and interacting with local people

  • Help

    Help

    The key help is to look after our two rescue dogs, Safi (a sheppard mix) and Volare (a mastiff mix). They are outside dogs and are low maintenance, just requiring feeding once a day, and some love! They would love to go for a walk around the neighbourhood a few times a week, but this is not required.

    Otherwise, all we would like done is for the plants to be watered and that you keep the house clean and tidy as required.

    Food is not offered as we will not be here, but you may use what is in our kitchen.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    En-suite bedroom within our home, with hot and cold water, good internet, cable television and fans (no air-conditioning). Full use of the kitchen, living area, patio, bbq, washing machine and dryer. The house is located within a gated community, with 24 hour security at the entrance to the community.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Your free time can be spent exploring Trinidad:
    - sample our diverse local food
    - excellent birdwatching at Yerette a few minutes away, or the Asa Wright Nature Centre and the Caroni Swamps
    - several different beaches to explore, especially along the north coast, and small islands off of Trinidad (called "Down the Islands")
    - hiking - we can put your in touch with local hiking groups or guides
    - cycling
    - visit Tobago
    - enjoy Trinidad's lively nightlife and music scene, restaurants, cinema, etc
    - or just relax on our patio enjoying the view!
    We can give you tips and ideas on site seeing and areas of interest. Trinidad has a lot to offer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good WiFi and use of work desk and chair.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 1 hour a day

View of Maracas Valley where we live
Safi and Volare
Our patio / dining area
Living room
Kitchen
Patio for relaxing....
Workawayer bedroom
Volare
Safi
Views along north coast hike to Paria
Paria waterfall
Las Cuevas beach
Rincon waterfall - a tough but rewarding hike!
Sunrise from Fort George, Port of Spain
Host ref number: 924775824989