Come join our family and be a big sister to two lovely girls in Romford, Essex


United Kingdom


Favourited 68 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges


 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We are very busy family of 5 looking for a lovely big sister for my two girls age 9 and 12. We have three children in total. My step son is aged 15(he lives with his mother and visits us on weekends). We also have a 25 month old hamster called Jack.
    I am a nurse and my husband is a banker.
    We are a very busy couple and work full time, so need someone responsible, committed, caring, loving and fun to help us with childcare and general cleaning up in the house.
    We live in Romford which is a market town in sunny Essex but we are so close to the north eastern boundary of London that it will take you approx 20 -25 to get into London from the train station if you are headed that way.
    Our lovely home is located in a quiet neighbourhood.
    There are lots of local shops, cafés, libraries, and parks that are within walking distance. Essex is a massive beautiful county waiting to be discovered.
    We will like to host some who wants to stay long term (3-4 months or even longer).
    As you share our home with us, we ask that you treat it with respect and clear up after yourselves. We are first time work away hosts but we have hosted au pairs for several years and so we will like to carry on the cultural exchange on here so as welcome volunteers of all ages. We are very honest people and would like to deal with like minded folk. We have remained friends with all the au pairs we have hosted in the past. We would like for you to enjoy your time with us and remember us with fondness when you leave and so we believe mutual respect is essential.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a British/African family and thus you will be gaining experience from 2 cultures. I was born and brought up in Nigeria but I have lived in England for a long time. Nevertheless I can teach you the little I know and introduce you to some Nigerian cuisine if you're interested particularly our famous jollof rice! My husband is English. In exchange for helping us, we will offer you room and board and embrace you as a member of our family. We welcome every age and every race as long we are the right fit. We would also be happy to learn about you and your cultures. I love cooking so perhaps you can show me a traditional recipe of yours!
    You will have weekends to yourself to enjoy some alone time and explore Essex and London.

  • Help


    We need help with the following:
    - getting th little one to school and back on time.
    - helping kids with their homework and guiding them through their weekday routine
    - helping with the ironing.
    - preparing some meals for yourself and the kids
    - keeping the kids rooms clean and tidy
    - general tidying of the kitchen and living areas as required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We live in a lovely 6 bedroom home.
    You will have a good sized double room with a double bed, two wardrobes, 2 bedside drawers, a tall mirror and a small television.
    You will share the big bathroom upstairs with the children as well as well as the small shower room which is located downstairs. The toilet downstairs is shared by every one as it is so convenient.

    You will have access to the food in the house. You will eat mainly with the girls but we try as much as possible to sit down as a family and eat although that can be challenging on weekdays.
    We do not have any specific diet. We eat meat, we eat pork. We are not vegetarian/vegan or gluten free and so we ask that if you are, you kindly disclose this to us in advance so that we work something out before you arrive.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In and around Romford you will find Romford Market, Havering Museum, there are lots of parks, pubs, farms (Old Macdonalds Farm)... Essex is a large county that is rich in history and culture and there are lots to experience in its many cities, towns and villages.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 923854749695