Help out on our beautiful and historic ship in Oakland, San Francisco Bay Area USA

Country

United States

Favourited 431 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Brian and Jess are searching for a responsible and detail oriented (and WONDERFUL!) person (or possibly a couple) to help us with 20 hours per week of varnishing, painting and odd jobs, towards the care of our historic vessel. You will have the opportunity to learn about the care and maintenance of a steel vessel with wood detailing as well as experience life on the water. We prefer someone who is experienced with tools and enjoys doing physical tasks.

    In exchange, we offer free room and food for you to cook your meals (some meals will be cooked by the host). The boat is docked at Jack London Square in Oakland California which is a beautiful location and right next to public transit so you can explore the Bay Area San Francisco. There are lots of great areas to explore you can borrow our bike or our blow up kayak. You can watch the wildlife and amazing sunsets from the deck.

    The boat is very large so there is lots of space. The helper would have their own cabin space and bathroom and share the kitchen and living spaces.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about life on a historic vessel in a central bay area location.

  • Help

    Help

    20 hours per week of varnishing, painting and odd tasks towards the care of our historic vessel which is our home. We could also use help with social media.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Cabin with bed and sink and closet. Bathroom with shower not far away from the room. Shared kitchen and living room.
    The boat has a lot of comforts of home such as laundry and dishwasher and wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to do locally such as hikes, boating and bike rides and exploring towns and cities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 921837768867