Come and stay in a museum in Greenough, western Australia

  • Favourited 271 times
  • Last activity: 10 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    This is a unique opportunity for you to come and live in a museum and use your creativity to make this an even more interesting place to visit.
    The museum is located 19km south of Geraldton and 400km north of Perth. It is open daily between 8.30am and 3.30pm and located within an historic homestead built between 1862-80 which is surrounded by gardens, including a community vegetable garden.
    Accommodation is in a separate wing of the museum building. I can only host single helpers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Through your creativity there are many ways that you can leave your mark on this museum during your brief stay.This is also a great opportunity to learn more of this region's history, to meet the locals and visitors from all round the world and to improve your English.

  • Help

    Help

    Helpers in the past have assisted by translating handouts into French, German, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, Dutch, Korean and Japanese.
    Others have helped redesign the webpage and museum brochures, or design software for the museum 'teleporter'. Those with artistic skills have decorated garden fixtures and furniture.
    Assistance may also be required to keep the museum open. Also, if you like cooking, that is fantastic. Have a veggie garden, so there is always something fresh to pick.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room available with single bed, share bathroom and other facilities. Preference towards workawayers over 25 and non-smokers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please be aware the museum is located 19km from the nearest shops and there is no public transport available. I do have a bicycle you can use. However, it is within walking distance of isolated beaches. Volunteers must like animals as I have 2 dogs.
    For helpers wanting to improve their English, I hold a Cambridge Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults (2001).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours/day max 25 hours/week

Host ref number: 921399368135

Feedback (16)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




















Help with DIY at Mackerel Beach, NSW, Australia
Enjoy our peaceful farm, learn about animal husbandry, help with weeding, mending in Port Macquarie, Australia