Help out on our property in upstate New York, USA


United States

Favourited 1185 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    52.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We have a 27 acre property in the Hudson Valley, 2 hrs N of NYC. We have seven vacation rentals on our property. We also have a good number of animals; 3 horses, a flock of chicken, kittens, cats, rabbits, goats and 4 large dogs. We have a large vegetable garden and small green house. I am a builder, horseman and hydraulic repairman, but the best description of me is "nature loving hippie artist". We do not believe in any organized religion and everybody is welcome.

    We are in need of someone, preferably a couple that would be interested in helping. If you are single person please do contact us as well.

    We look forward to hearing about you!

    25 hours of help a week.
    The help includes, preparing/cleaning the accommodations, cleaning, organizing pizza parties, showing guests around the farm, gardening and taking care of the small animals.

    We also need people who can do general carpentry, handyman/woman stuff and fence repair.

    Where we live is a paradise, beautiful land, quiet and somewhat remote. You can bike or walk 1-3 miles to great places to swim, a wine shop, a farmers market and wifi cafe, two antique shops and a local historical museum. If you have more endurance you can bike further to several other towns. We have bikes you can use or if we have time, we could give you a ride. New Paltz is 25 minutes from us, Woodstock 40 minutes, there are taxis that will take you to these and other towns if we are not able to drive you.

    We enjoy meeting new people and there is always a steady flow as our vacation rentals and long term renters are all interested in sharing ideas and a bottle of wine by a big bonfire. We have wonderful dinners and often these turn into impromptu parties that go into the night. You will have a lot of fun here!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help


    Most of the time the work is cleaning the accommodations. People with special skills may work on other projects. Sometimes we have 3 or 4 helpers and then the work becomes more diverse.

    List of jobs:
    Cleaning vacation rentals
    Cleaning our home
    Showing guest their accommodation
    Cleaning Chicken coop, gathering eggs
    Weeding Large vegetable garden.
    Planting trees and vegetables
    Building Rock walls
    Light carpentry and building projects.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    We have one bedroom available in our home and a small trailer. If there are more than 2 volunteers some can stay there if they choose.
    At one time our property was the center of a 400 acre Dairy Farm given to the Davenport family in 1689 by queen Mary of England. The Big House was originally the Dairy Barn. Great care was taken to save the original Chestnut Beams and the rustic country feel of the home. The living room is a double height space with a giant map of the world on which we like to mark the homes of all of our guests. The country kitchen has a full sized refrigerator, range and kitchen basics provided. A full bathroom and laundry room are also on the first floor.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are wonderful places to hike, a short drive away, or even walking out the front door.
    On our property there is a stream that you can swim in during the warm weather.
    We have four wonderful dogs that are super friendly and loveable, everyone who stays here takes lots of photos of them and I think that they are missed and remembered the most.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week

Cal, Clair and Kuma
Tessa and Freckles her best friend.
Saturday night bonfire!

Host ref number: 921121834488