Help with an eco project in the Vicenza province, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 232 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    3840

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 20 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Looking for an enriching experience in Italy?
    My name is Barbara and I am 61 years of age. I own an organic lavender farm.
    I have just moved into a very nice house for the next 2/3 years until the destiny of the farm will be set and I can only host a skilled couple to help in housekeeping decluttering and a little maintenance in the house.

    Normally we grow our own vegetables and pick the edible herbs that grow on the property.
    Biodiversity is a must here and we also harvest seeds for exchange.
    We live with two big, lovely black dogs, Tara and Taboo, 3 cats and about 20 chickens. We breed an ancient chicken breed feeding with hemp seed and natural feedstuff and we need help to move the chicken coop.
    We have 3 bee hives and are planning to produce lavender honey soon.
    There is a lot of things that can be done and we are always open to new and innovative ideas, to make our place a better place to visit.
    Among requested skills, we'd love to host a good DIY "engineer" as soon as possible!
    Along with my family, I generally eat simple local natural food, some of it is grown by us. 
    We are no vegetarians therefore, if you are, please let us know beforehand as well as if you are allergic to anything.
    We love to hear other people's stories and cultures and we only host helpers with references, travel insurance, photograph, clean, tidy, enthusiastic and polite who are prepared to work Monday to Saturday for about 5 hours. On Sundays everybody, including us, will be off duty.

    We are and like open minded people and polite smokers. We provide limited quantities of wine and we do not provide hard liquors and Sunday food.
    We do not accept extra animals.

    Ciao for now! Barbara

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think travelers might benefit from my life experience, my culture and the beauty of the territory where we live.
    With their help I'd like to organize little cultural events in the spring/summer season.

  • Help

    Help

    My Eco project requires maintenance, gardening, farming and help in general.
    Priority: Lavender harvest and We need to enlarge the chicken coop.
    In my small farm the garden is not yet existent and I just want to create a nice and welcoming outside for the house. So the required skills are as gardner, mason, electrician, carpenter plus interior decoration and renovation ideas will be most welcome.
    My ex husband is a great help and takes care of the dogs and the vegetable garden, but he is not very skilled in general construction and maintenance. So the more skills in that area the better.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    italian, english, french, german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For security reasons, travelers will be hosted in a nice comfortable double bedroom in our home. But in case you want to have the ultimate natural experience, you can stay in the house by the woodland and cook your own food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Travelers can benefit from a very beautiful and cultural area, Vicenza and the Palladian Villas district, wonderful food and trekking area. Venice is about one hour away by train and Verona (Romeo and Juliet's town) is a little more than half hour away. Padova and thermal centers are within 1 hours drive, walking experiences and lots going on in the whole Region starting with the spring throughout the fall.
    TRANSPORT Helpers will be picked up and taken to the Lonigo railway station on arrival/departure dates. Except on Sundays (unfortunately!) you can count on public transport to and from Vicenza, stopping not far from our home quite frequently mornings and afternoons during the week. Extra lifts to the train station in Lonigo (17km) can be negotiated.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (3.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 919938529362