Enjoy the local way of life and help us with renovations in the heart of the Pyrenees, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 436 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    22  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    918

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, here is Maël,
    I work by my own as a climbing and canyoning instructor.

    I live in an old hotel building of 300m2, that I started to renovate with the help of friends and helpers 4 years ago, whith respect of the ancien style, and with cheap and ecological meanings.

    My favorite moments are dedicated to (except renovating this magnifiscent ancien hotel): music, climbing, visit friends and welcome people from other cultures...

    Things to do:
    Various types of works!
    Renovating the building: Plastering, electricity, painting, sanding...
    ...And Cleaning/ordering the house and the outbuildings, cooking, Cause we live in he place in which we are working.
    We have a collective Garden in a field close to the house.
    However, during Summertime, I'm over busy with my canyoning and climbing activities, so I need help in maintaining the house, the garden, cooking, and a little help at my canyoning base. It may also happen that you join me during the activities...


    Accommodation:
    We now have a proper kitchen and a nice huge living room, then the stay is comfortable, although the rooms upstairs make you feel in the middle of a big 'work in progress'.
    We have 8 rooms/spaces upstairs. I provide rooms 'not yet renovated', that we cleaned and made comfortable enough. Bed sheets and towels provided. We share a unique bathroom, and 3 toilets...
    I provide the food, and I propose that we cook together. Different countries specialties are welcome!

    The hotel is on the main place of the nice village of Saurat, and we enjoy everyday its friendly atmosphere and the visit of friends, mostly climbers and musicians
    Located in a really nice valley in the heart of 'Pyrénées ariégeoises' natural park, the place offers a lot of possibilities for outdoor and mountain activities (hiking, climbing etc...)

    Living together
    We are now 4 room-mates living here all year-long. The relationship with the workawayers I welcome matters to me.
    I'm concerned withe the behavior of the people I live with, and prefer active and smiling people, careful with others and ready to participate in maintaining the house in a nice state.

    If anything becomes uncomfortable, for you or me, it's important to talk, and possibly, the collaboration can stop peacefully if needed.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    - Exchanging about building and renovating technics, convictions about ancient houses, respect of its story, choices of low environment impact, alternative materials, how to use various tools...
    - There are a lots of outdoor and mountain activities to do, and people living here are open to share it. Most of my friends are climbers.
    - Playing music ...
    - Cooking together, your specialties or ours...
    - living in our place in the charming valley of Saurat. Many hiking paths around the house.
    - Sharing about life, knowledge and cultures of the world!

  • Help

    Help

    I look for help to renovate an 360m2 old hotel building :. electricity, and plummery networks, plasters, painting, wood work, gardening, etc...
    I try to be with you during working time, but skilled people ready to achieve a task by themselves are specially wanted...
    During summer, the renovation process is slowered, we concentrate on house maintenance, and help with activities.
    To help efficiently with the renovation, skilled people are needed easy with the idea to deal with a lot of various details. It happens to me that to teach or explain takes more time that to do the job myself... So I'm looking for these rare people who are patient, and happy with different types of challenges... Last but not least is your motivation.


    I like when organization is decided together...
    You're invited to help me to organise time and reflexion about working and daily tasks, regarding to your expectations and skills... and with my available time. 25 hrs a week of work: depending on our willing, it can be or a few hours a day, or, on the contrary do all the work in 3 days, then save free time...

    Mostly, the things to do are dusty and dirty, so I try to provide clothes for work, but it's often nice for you if you have your favorite ones...

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    For the moment, I have just finished the ground level (living room, kitchen, technical/heating room. I can welcome 1 or 2 people or a couple.
    The rooms are not renovated yet upstairs, but clean and comfortable enough...
    We share an unique bathroom. There are 3 toilets.
    We usually share all the tasks and help is required to prepare meals for everybody in the house. 3 or 4 persons at lunch time and often around 8 people for dinner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Once you've scheduled to come:
    Let us know when you've found the transportation meanings,
    Thanks also for telling us if you cancel, please, whatever is the reason, then organisation here is fluent...

    To join the ancient "Hotel du Commerce" in Saurat:
    - reach Tarascon-sur-Ariege, then I'll drive you up to Saurat.

    During free time:
    Lots of possibilities to enjoy outings, mountain, visit sight seeing places...
    I can lent you climbing, canyoning gear or so if you go by your own on activities.
    I'll try to help you find informations about your hobbies if there are possibilities to do it around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    average of 5 hours, 5 days a week - 5 heures par jour en moyenne, 5 j/sem.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





















Host ref number: 918163568435