Experience life on a Ranch in the Wilderness of British Columbia, Canada.

Country

Canada

Favourited 193 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️*️️️️️Current Update*️️️️️*️️️️️
    We are currently looking for 1 or 2 workawayers who are self motivated and eager to experience a rural setting. Current tasks would be clearing branches from the trails that go up the mountain on our private property and daily animal chores. We are looking for someone available right away, for a few weeks.

    Our Ranch is a family farm in the 21 century. Our focus is on natural, value added agricultural products. We have a herd of 45 beef cattles, a flock 50 commercial ewes, and 15 working horses, including 5 teams of draft horses. We also raise free range chickens and turkeys, goats and pigs.
    The Ranch is also home to an on-farm meat cutting operation. We process all of the animals we raise, and sell them at local farmers markets. We attend 2 markets per week during the summer months as well as bi-weekly markets during the winter months.
    During the winter months we also have horse drawn sleigh rides for the Christmas season. We also have the fleece from our sheep processed and we market this a variety of ways.
    We have over 1200 acres to experience, and there are many local natural attractions, including Wells Grey Provincial Park.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very hands-on experience. We have an extremely wide range of activities always on the go, and offer the opportunity for everyone to find their neich and to try new things. A lot of farm work is performed with teams of draft horses. The farmers markets give a great opportunity to experience the fulfillment of bringing the farm products to greatful customers. Our Ranch offers the chance to really experience the rustic wilderness of the Canadian west.

  • Help

    Help

    Summer months-fence building and repair. Building construction and repair. Vegetable gardening. Irrigation of hay fields. Animal care. (Cattle, sheep, goats, pasture raised chicken and turkeys, horses, pigs) Housework and help with meals. Farmers markets.

    Fall months- butcher shop tasks. Firewood gathering. Animal care. Vegetable garden harvesting.

    Winter months- butcher shop tasks. Feeding of livestock. Christmas season horse drawn sleigh rides. Wool projects.

    Spring months- lambing, calving and kidding. Shearing. Field work. Planting vegetable gardens. Fence building and maintenance. Building construction and repair.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our "Little House" is a 2 bedroom, detached accommodation located in the main farm yard. There are 2 bedrooms, each with a queen sized bed. Bedding is provided for both beds. (And the beds are super comfy!!) There is a living room, as well as a simple kitchen, wash room, and porch entrance. The house is heated by a woodstove that is operated by the guests and works great! There is a stand up shower and 2 sinks. There is a full sized fridge as well as hotplate and cutlery.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Access to the Ranch is via vehicle on a dirt road. We are located 19 km from Barriere, BC. Kamloops BC, is a 1.25 hour drive away. The area boasts numerous local lakes for swimming, fishing, boating and other water activities. Well Grey Provoncial Park is about 1 hour north of our Ranch.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 917979273765