Help with our wild garden, decorating and busy family just outside Cambridge, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 313 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a village just outside the well known University city of Cambridge. The house is on the old railway line (closed in the 1960's) and has a large garden with the old platform in the garden. It is in the middle of open countryside, yet is only 5 miles from town, 20 minutes by bus or 40 minutes by bicycle to the historic city centre. I am a musician and freelance arts project manager and I live at home with my 2 year old girl and 4 year old boy and our two kittens Bo and Tallulah.

    We could do with some help decorating, the day to day running of the house, general housework, playing with the kids, plus the never ending list of gardening jobs that needs doing!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are right on the doorstep of an old and beautiful city which is there for the exploring!

  • Help

    Help

    We are a friendly family, that is working hard to pay all our bills! Since my second baby came along, it's been virtually impossible to get anything done without two pairs of hands! We've got a lovely house, but need help with...housekeeping (kids are messy and create MOUNTAINS of laundry!) decorating, a few garden projects, playing with the babies and generally assisting in getting/ keeping our lives organised! We also have an old gypsy wagon that we have nearly finished renovating so there could be some general help with that.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room in the house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 40 minutes by bicycle or 20 minutes by bus from the bustling city of Cambridge. It is a beautiful city and a great place to practice your English or just spend time if you are an English speaker. We are also only 50 minutes on the train from London. We would be happy to give lifts to the station when we are going into town. The village is 5 miles from the city centre and has a pub, and a shop that is open from 7am to 7pm. There are buses that run in to town and we have a bike available to use. We would be flexible if guests wanted to condense some hours to go to London for a long weekend say. Please be aware that we are only able to offer short term stays of around 2-3 weeks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Late summer after harvest. Looking out of the upstairs landing window.
Early spring, frosty sunrise
New raise beds and the view out of the front door!
Monkey the cat!
BBQ after a hard days work...
The old station platform in the garden...where the wagon will go!
The garden before we started clearing years of weeds!
The sitting room in the morning.


Host ref number: 917491436553