Smallholding with chickens and Bees in Beulah, Colorado. USA

Country

United States

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an easy going couple that enjoys the outdoors including motorcycling trips during the summer months. We are looking for help with building raised garden beds, starting the organic vegetable gardens, help in the flower garden, and possibly assisting with some work on the cabin that will become the farm stall (needs new floor and ceiling). We lead a quiet life but do enjoy socializing with friends and neighbors over dinner or a BBQ. We are originally from South Africa, but have lived in the USA for the past 26 years.

    We recently moved our cats, small dog, and ourselves, to our magical 7 acre small farm in Beulah, Colorado, to get out of the rat-race of Denver, and have many projects that we are working on at this amazing property. Mike is a beekeeper and we are planning on expanding the number of hives we have. We keep chickens for eggs. We are building raised beds in which we will grow organic vegetables and plan on selling the honey, vegetables and eggs at our soon-to-be farm stall on the corner of the property.

    Come and join us in this beautiful valley where you can breath fresh air, enjoy the openness and help us create an organic garden.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn about beekeeping, help us build organic vegetable gardens, flower gardening, raising chickens and much more in a farming community that is in the heart of Colorado.

  • Help

    Help

    Apply your skills where you can to help with organic gardening, building raised garden beds, learn about beekeeping, help with the chickens, revamping a small cabin that will become a farm stall, and general help around the property. Work 4 days per week for half a day, and spend the rest of the time adventuring or just simply relaxing! We can pick you up from surrounding areas as there is no public transportation to Beulah. We are flexible on the volunteer hours - for example 3 full days vs 5 half days etc so that you can explore beautiful Colorado.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and Afrikaans

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Lovely independent cottage on the property - one bedroom, bathroom, living room, full kitchen, finished attic. Comfortably furnished with a queen size bed. Will provide our guests with continental breakfast and other items for self-catering.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Beulah is a beautiful agricultural community surrounded by the Wet Mountains. 20 minutes from Pueblo and in close proximity to other smaller Colorado towns like Rye and Colorado City. Lots of great hikes and cycling routes. Come and enjoy the peace and quite of the valley, and relax next to the bubbling stream that runs through our property. We will enjoy taking our visitors to local attractions that are all within about a 2 hour drive: Bishops Castle, Westcliffe, Great Sand Dunes National Park, Salida, Cripple Creek, Royal Gorge, and much more. We are surrounded by national parks and have camping equipment that we are happy to lend to guests.

    The ideal visitor would be a non-smoker and someone who too enjoys the quiet that the community offers. They would also need to be respectful of our cottage and keep it clean. If they have woodworking or agricultural skills, it would be a huge plus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 916726613426