Come help us with kids and around the house in our family home. Freiburg, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 76 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!
    We are a mixed couple, Kendra (from Germany, 43), Mauro (from Italy, also 43) and we have two boys, Luca Matteo (10) and Lorenzo (almost 3).
    Kendra: I am working as a interpreter (sign language to german) as a free lancer. Often I need to confirm job requests with a short notice. I go with the deaf client and I facilitate the communication. From time to time I have to accept requests very spontaneous, also during the we. In this case your help is needed.
    Mauro: I am Italian, arrived in Germany with 26, and after living and working in different towns, from north to south of Germany, I am now working in the tourism industry as a free lancer and can be travelling abroad for many days. I learned German from the basis and I can show you effective methods to accelerate your learning.

    WHAT WE CAN OFFER:

    The energy a Freiburg is excellent, lots a students are around, many cultural offers, and what we particularly appreciate is that nature is very close. From here you can walk directly in the Black Forest for hours.

    About food:
    In case you are vegetarian or vegan you should be tolerant enough to let us cook beef or fish also when you are in the kitchen. We offer you good quality products including fresh fruits and vegetables and of course we consider your preferences while buying food. We prefer you not to be strictly vegetarian because sometimes will be cooked only one meal. In this case you can eat fruits or vegetable but you don`t have always the chance to prepare your own meal.

    Your accommodation will be in our two floors flat, in a private single room in a very sustainable district (Vauban). Here there are few cars around and we invite you to use our bycicle.
    We have two bathrooms, one with shower and the other with bath and you can use both.
    We live directly to a pedestrian square where every wednesday you will find a regional food market. Also our small garden is at your disposal when you wish.

    A GOOD MATCH!


    We would like a Workawayer who is open, communicative and flexible.
    Open: we prefer you to share family live with us instead of stay in your room as soon as you have the chance.
    Communicative with children: even if it will cost you some energy at the beginning they will respond positively. Don`t give up!. Shiny people should really think if this is what they can do.
    Experience looking after children is a plus.

    We would like you to take the children outside in the lots of green areas around in the afternoon. Luca and Lorenzo will feel free to act within a frame that you will contribute to create.
    We would like you to teach our sons some short sentences in english, as a play but on a daily basis. English is a plus.

    We need also help with the housekeeping. This include cooking, cleaning bathrooms, use the washing machine, go to the supermarket. Basically you should stay open and contribute to the family-life activities that we agree on a daily basis. Once again: communication on a daily basis is essential.

    We encourage you to have german classes in the morning if you wish. But you cannot study all the afternoon because you have a lots of homework from school.

    We like people enthusiasm who are willing to communicate and discover the town and countryside.
    You should be able to drive a bycicle.

    We have had very good experience with Workaway but in case it is not a good match we would like you to be flexible enough to understand this.


    We are happy to hear from you and looking forward to a win-win match!

    Actually we are searching for a person from now on for 2 or 3 weeks, untill the end of march...

    Kendra, Mauro, Luca Matteo and Lorenzo

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak german and italian fluently, a good spanish, have many tips for you for visiting the Black Forest and we have two lovely boys.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like your help for about 4 - 5 hours a day, than you are free for sport, german classes, sightseeing or whatever you want

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    At your disposal will be a private room. Of course you are free to move everywhere in the flat, use one of the bathrooms, eat with us and maybe help us to prepare one of the main meals of the day. We can organize this in a way that you can attend a german class with a regular timetable if you want.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you are free to visit the Black Forest. You can walk directly from here or take a local bus or train. Nightlife is very good and there are plenty of language classes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 916385358659