Help with garden & DIY projects in a small property by the sea, in front of Mount Pelion in Greece

  • Favourited 410 times
  • Last activity: 24 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    =============

    mainly for the period of April until October.: I need help mainly with the farm work and gardening as well as house-keeping/cleaning and some repair work; I would like to host someone who wants to spend 3-4 weeks living in the farm, with or without me or other people, taking care of the pets, trees, plants and vegetables in the garden, and occasionally helping with cleaning the house and the farm.

    =============

    --
    Hi, there.! I am Marianthi and I live in a little farm in the region of Mount Pelion, the place of Ancient Centauri. I am a semi-retired doctor (specialized in nuclear medicine) but now I practice holistic and energy healing.

    I run a non-profit association for energy self-awareness and healing. During the summer I run several workshops on personal development here in my farm, for people who want to change their lives through changing their inner reality and receive some educational tools to practice towards achieving this change.

    I love living in nature with animals, plants and above all, the sea.! I have a small garden with vegetables, which provides me and the people I host, with our food that we grow and harvest ourselves.There are also a lot of trees in my farm, which give us a lot of fruits, olives and fresh air in the hot summer months.

    I need mainly adult and responsible people (not youngies) who know about farmwork and are able to respect the rules of our community. I welcome the assistance of anyone who holds respect for nature, himself and the others. Come join me, if your heart calls for it! 😊

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living in an idyllic rural setting, in harmony with nature, and the proximity to clean, blue sea are the main reasons to come stay here.
    You could also benefit from some energetic healing sessions, if you would like to enhance and balance your energy field.
    It can also be an opportunity to learn some Greek (language) and explore areas of archaeological interest nearby.
    The Greek lifestyle, the eco environment and everyday swimming will charge your batteries with long lasting energy.
    Also the daily interaction with our pets, gives calm and tenderness

  • Help

    Help

    I ask for help from someone who enjoys this kind of work and knows how to do it. Taking care of the pets (4 dogs and 10 cats), trees, plants, herbs and vegetables in the garden, everyday cleaning and maintenance/ repairs in the house and farm, for about 5 hours/ day, five days/ week. Economy and ecology are the two main axons of this farm and you will be asked to be aware and responsible on your behaviors
    It is also important that you have a good relationship with animals, and especially dogs. Our dogs are very friendly and sociable, and a big part of our life here.
    We also ask that you have your own travel health insurance for the duration of your stay

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a separate house (dorm) that can be used, when not occupied by other people. During the periods that we have many guests, you may need to stay in a tent (provided) or in the kiosk for a few nights. (But during these periods you will have the opportunity to take some healing sessions free).
    The accommodation arrangement will depend on the dates of your visit.
    From March to October the volunteers may stay in the 3-bed dorm, when we have no guests. During seminars the dorm is offered to the guests, so the volunteers will have to stay either in the small naturally-built hut, or in the caravan, or tents underneath the olive and fig trees. Workshops usually last 5-6 days, after which you may return to the dorm.
    The dorm features en-suite bathroom and fireplace, and adjacent kitchen and second toilet.
    Please get in touch with your dates, and we will discuss the availability of the dorm.
    The hut is finished now and can be used even in winter. Just a little carpentry work is still needed
    There is also a small caravan,which is supposed to be used also for the guests, but it always depends on their number

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Workawayers will have the opportunity to swim in a marvelous clean sea, hike on mountain paths in the woods, explore beauties of nature around on foot or riding our bikes. They can also visit the nearby city of Volos (museum, old churches, archaeological places etc). There are very frequent bus itineraries to near villages and Volos.
    Our diet here is vegan with happy eggs and occasional sea food, The volunteer may bring their own dairy from the shop, but are not allowed to cook or eat meat in our kitchens and premises. We appreciate that the volunteers as well as our guests are of the same mindset and belief in respecting our environment and animal friends.
    I live a quiet life when I am alone and I am communicative when I have guests attending my workshops.
    There are also some rules to respect: No drugs, no alcohol consumption, respect of the quiet hours, keeping your space clean and tidy, not bringing any external people to our premises. If you decide to join us, we'll get in touch and have a video call, to discuss about any questions. Thank you in advance

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Small or medium size caravan are welcome also. Not big ones, please.!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 915715247817

Feedback (10)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.6)

Communication: (4.4)

















Help on our non-profit horse-breeding farm on Skyros island, Greece
Daily tasks in the home and garden in a small village in the outskirts of Alexandropoulis in North Greece.