Scottish Tea, Soap Making, Goats to Cuddle and Pony to groom and a Cosy caravan with incredible views! In the Highlands of Scotland.

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 202 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    399

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Looking for volunteers for September!

    We are a family of 4 who live in a rural community in the Highlands of Scotland. We bought a run down croft (smallholding) 3 years ago and have multiple projects on the go! We have two children (5 years and 18 months) and two dogs. We keep goats, chickens and ducks and have an acre of Tea which we recently planted and we have great plans to plant trees, hedges and lay pathways to make the Tea Garden productive and beautiful! There is a huge amount to do to get the place running properly. We would like to use permaculture techniques where possible. The area (The Kyle of Sutherland) is very beautiful, the people are friendly and it is very peaceful and tranquil.

    We are looking for couples/ folk travelling in pairs to help us out. Unfortunately we cannot accommodate families this year as we are building a house and won't be able to keep the area safe for children. Accommodation in a small self contained caravan which sleeps two or a large self contained static caravan with two bedrooms and a large living area.

    Most work will be gardening based though the animals also need care and cuddles! At the beginning of the season we will be putting up a polytunnel so we need to get the beds established. We will be planting thousands of seeds to populate the tea garden and other areas of the croft with a wide variety of plants to encourage bees and butterflies and to make everything look beautiful! This will include establishing a cottage garden, herb garden and medicinal herb garden. There are plants to establish in the tea garden, and most work summer 2019 will be WATERING, WEEDING, PLANTING SEEDLINGS AND SEEDS!

    Lots of weeding, watering, potting up and planting out! If you are into gardening this is the place for you!

    Opportunity to make tea and soap too!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Growing and producing tea, growing vegetables and establishing a garden, planting trees- all in a beautiful setting in the Highlands of Scotland.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a run down croft in the highlands and require help establishing: polytunnel, herb garden, and planting nectar belts in our tea garden. Also need help with chickens and ducks and goats. In spring and summer 2019 there will be alot of seed sowing and garden to establish, weeding and watering, in October there will be 3000 trees to plant for a hedge we are establishing.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small caravan with toilet, shower, cooker and sofa area. We will provide you food for breakfast (porridge or eggs) and a simple, vegetarian lunch (soup and bread) and dinner (often stew or curry or pasta) will either be cooked my us or by you as part of your hours.

    We both work away from the croft at times which means volunteers will need to feel comfortable working without supervision though very often one of us will be here and at the weekends we are both around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We stay on the outskirts of a small village which has everything you need day to day- shop, cafe, library, post office, community hub, restaurant. Beautiful walks and bike rides. Beaches, woods, castles in easy driving distance. Inverness and Loch Ness only an hour away. West and north coasts only 1.5 hour drive away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 914495591762