Help with gardening and general maintenance, Grasse, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 115 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are a mature couple in our fifties, married for 35 years. We live and work here on in a wooded valley on the outskirts of Grasse. Our two sons live in the uk so it is just us and a very, very friendly Black Labrador.
    We live in a small cottage on the grounds of a large villa with around 3 hectares of woodland, meadow and more formal gardens.
    From time to time we could do with help with the gardening , strimming, weeding, general clearing and general maintenance dependent on your skill sets, though we are always happy to give guidance etc
    At present we are looking for somebody with good general gardening skills, strimming etc and are happy to pay a weekly allowance of around 150€ on top of food and accomodation but you must be capable and able to work at times without supervision. we would warn you that there is some hard physical clearance work involved, and it can be hot!! Would prefer someone who could stop for a month or so.

    We do not have a massive home and live a fairly sedate lifestyle. It is therefore important for anyone applying to take this into account. They would need to blend in, we are normally in bed before 11pm and up by 6.30am, We eat well in the evenings with a glass of wine or beer but are social drinkers. Neither of us smoke and we would prefer non smokers.
    I think that this position might suit a more mature couple / solo traveler than a young couple / young person. So please bear all these points in mind before applying.
    The village is about 2 km away and has a few restaurants and bars but no real nightlife as such
    There is a good bus service into Cannes, Nice etc, we are about 35 minutes drive to the sea, maybe a bit longer in high season.
    This is a good, quiet location enjoying stunning views and good walks, perfect for relaxation just outside the hustle and bustle of the coast.
    If you are looking for a quiet, relaxed week on the French Riviera this could be ideal for you.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn alongside us about General gardening, pruning olive trees and perhaps learn new building / maintenance skills.

  • Help

    Help

    The main tasks will focus around gardening, strimming. Please note that this is not easy strimming, it is on the olive terraces and is pretty hard work physically. There may be at certain times some property maintenance depending on your ability or just lending a general hand.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will provide your own bedroom with your own bathroom and shower. This is small but fairly self contained with a kitchen facility. It is situated at another property around 50 metres away from the main villa / grounds. You will have your own outdoor area for table and chairs and bbq. There is no internet connected here but you can access the internet to check e-mails etc at ours.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off can be spent just sunbathing, dependent on time of year, chilling out or taking the bus to the many beautiful villages towns and historical cities nearby. Grasse, the nearby perfume capital, Monaco always worth a visit along with Nice and Cannes. Plenty of nice walks in the area and small villages with bars and restaurants. We will, where possible and reasonable, be happy to give you a lift into Grasse or to bus stops / train stations. There are some stunning walks around about into the mountains and gorges and we could arrange a lift / pick up from these from time to time. Please just bear in mind that we would be juggling this around our work commitments.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day maximum, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 913921754984