Help around the mini-farm and with animals, with opportunity to travel, based in the Midwest

Country

United States

Favourited 40 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2856

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We’re a small show dog kennel on a mini-farm based in a rural area of Missouri – around an hour away from St. Louis – and we’re currently looking for someone to help around the farm and with my Mom and her chickens whilst I’m away at dog shows. (More info below)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Opportunities would include learning a variety of farm skills, self-sufficiency, responsibility and caring for animals (incl. dogs, cows, horses, donkeys, rabbits, chickens and ducks!).

  • Help

    Help

    I travel every week to exhibit at dog shows throughout the country and, as such, have to leave my family to look after the property and animals. My Mom & I have separate but adjoining houses and, as well as the dogs, own a number of rabbits and chickens (which also occasionally show). We need someone who is able to help my Mom with looking after her animals, as well as yard work & chores such as some planting, weeding, moving hay bales, tidying up barns and the like. Nothing is back-breaking but we are in a rural area, and so we need someone who is able to be adaptable, proactive and comfortable with some physical work with and without animals. The majority of the chores will be in the morning, after which you are free to explore or relax.

    We welcome you into the family whilst you’re here. I share the house with my husband and one other Workawayer, my Mom is next door and my daughter lives a couple minutes down the lane. We’ll provide all your meals and, wherever possible, show you around the local area and have you join in with anything we’re doing. Although you’ll be at the house for the majority of the time, there may be opportunities to join me on the road at dog shows every now and then. We normally have a spare van that you’re more than welcome to borrow if you want to head into town or further afield into St. Louis when you can.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A separate bedroom inside our house with our family, although on the road we travel in an rv.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can offer you a beautiful stretch of untouched rural Midwest to explore; we are right next to a great State Park featuring peaceful river walks and cave tours, and are surrounded on all sides by woods and hills that are perfect for hiking (and walking dogs!). If you’re looking for peace & quiet, whilst being surrounded by nature, this is a perfect spot for you. We are in a very rural area, however, so this comes with it’s own challenges: we’re quite far from the nearest town so nightlife is not generally possible, we have Wi-Fi but it can be slow and, generally, you have to be able to find your own fun out here. Again, if you’re looking for a place to relax and enjoy nature, or perhaps for some time away to read/write/create, then we’d love to have you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 912532818419