Fit-in to our family life and help with our home, garden and kids in Fermoy, North Cork, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a homestay project. We live in the North Cork area and are a family of 5. We have recently moved to a large house in Fermoy town with a big garden and hope to find some people that can help around the house and garden and with the kids and fit in to our family life.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a welcoming family and want whoever stays with us to be happy. We will do what we can to show you around the area, meet some locals and get to know North Cork. Fermoy is a picturesque town on the Blackwater river with many activities close to home. We are about 30km from Cork city so easy to access for days out, shopping and language schools.

  • Help

    Help

    We are a family of 5 mum and dad Debbie and Fiachra, and 3 boys Somhairle 15, Tadhg 12 and Iarlaith 8.
    We are looking for help from now through until next summer 2021.

    We are currently moving into a large house in the middle of Fermoy town. There is a very big garden to maintain and lots of redecorating projects to be done in the house. Location of the house is ideal as you are close to everything in Fermoy, from shops, cafes, pubs, parks, woodland, swimming pool, sporting activities etc and we are on a bus route to Cork city and Dublin.

    We are looking for help with our boys, school runs and dropping them to activities such as scouts. Help with homework and one of our children studies Spanish so if we could find a Spanish speaker that would be great.
    Other help welcome with gardening, grass cutting, setting up a vegetable bed, decorating rooms and small building projects and maintenance, and woodwork projects etc. And if we get some animals help with feeding and minding them.
    We would like if you could share in the cooking for the family and we are always interested in other cultures and the food from other countries.
    You are welcome to share our home and we hope that if you come to stay with us, that you will feel welcomed and be part of our family for the duration of your stay.
    We will provide food for breakfast, lunch (both to be made by yourself but we supply food) and dinner when you are at home, we eat as a family every evening and would hope that you might help with the cooking some of the time.
    We would expect that if you are sharing mealtimes with the family, that you will help with the after-dinner clean up!
    We have Wi-Fi and Netflix.
    We also have one dog called Nonie, but are hoping to get a cat and maybe a goat or sheep. We also have a beehive!
    We have a landline phone so this could be a good access point for your families at home to make contact with you.

    You will need a full EU driving licence and we can insure you in our car. This way, you will be able to bring the boys places and have some access to the car from time to time for private use.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Irish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will live in the house with us in your own bedroom and share the communal space kitchen, bathrooms, living room and dining room. The house is spacious but as we are new to it we don't know how warm it will be in the winter. We are getting a new heating system installed in September so hopefully we will be comfortable, though Irish winters can be harsh.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are close to Cork city and would go in about every 2 weeks so you are welcome to travel with us or public transport is regular from Fermoy. There are many walks and parks in our area such as Doneraile and small walks in the local forestry or along the river. We have bikes and canoes which can be used.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 912486795968