Join our family in Jambiani Zanzibar, Tanzania

Country

Tanzania

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I moved to Jambiani,which is the South east of Zanzibar Island with my 6 year old son in January to work on my start up,a business dealing with tour organizing ,making organic oils etc and I say etc because with the current ever changing economic market I intend to be flexible yet resilient.

    We are very excited to exchange ideas, cultures and learn from you as much as you do from us during your stay here. We are very open minded and would welcome any creative/out of the box/insane/ different/ innovative ideas and share some of our own.otherwise how else do you grow?

    I can guarantee that you will learn not only about the food and culture, mentality of Tanzanians but also learn about the daily routine of the local people .As a Workawayer you will be able to experience Zanzibar from a whole other side than the typical tourist,. You will learn about the daily difficulties but also about the wonderful things there are to offer.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    some of the benefits would be that you can learn and practice to speak Swahili, you can eat and learn how to cook local food such as ugali, grating coconut (Swahili style) etc we will gladly show you.
    From time to time you could accompany me to the market or the shop or the garage etc (give you a chance to experience the city). you would really learn about the day to day life and experience it as it is for us locals (and yes, at times that could mean the infamous African traffic jam, frustration from the red tapes in process, at times culture shocks).i.e where we buy electricity, where and how to recharge the phone with money etc

    Lastly but not least, I know people travel for a lot of different reasons, this could also be a safe haven(its's super cozy), a refuge, an adventure, a break from a bad relationship! I'm open to getting to know you as a person and therefore feel free to share what "your deepest desire is"!seriously though, if this moves you,Holla!

    I am very communicative with a good work background, I have traveled and lived in different countries such as India, South Africa,Israel, Dubai, Saudi Arabia, Denmark, Amsterdam, Sierra Leone, Mozambique, Rwanda...uuum maybe there's one or two more left! we could exchange experiences/stories...I mean😆😄

  • Help

    Help

    *help with tutoring my son and perhaps other kids from the neighbourhood who are very keen to learn English,maths ,science,monopoly (yes,the game)
    *helping with house chores, like cooking, laundry and cleaning etc (take it as your home)
    *assisting me with organising my calendar for other activities that are work related.
    *aggressive marketing on social media and the target areas (we will devise a plan together.
    *some admin work like printing, updating CV, posting adverts

    You have to be self driven and independent,I am a bit of a procrastinator and at times need help getting into action!and it’s a plus if you are clean and organized, as I believe your surroundings reflect your mind😉

    I am very open to innovative ideas on how I can further develop and improve.

    I am not expecting any fees or payments.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would live with me and my son, and have your own room.The bed has a mosquito net and all of the windows and doors are sealed with nets as well. I fleet for mosquitos as an extra precaution when necessary.
    I am very flexible with cooking and we do like to eat healthy, very open to vegeterians (if you like fruit and veggies then you are sorted)...Karibu!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your spare time, if your not up to staying at home you can:-
    *take a walk on the beach,I am walking distance away from the beach!and people around are super friendly and almost everyone wants to try and speak /practice their English or teach you Swahili , from kids to shop keepers, bike drivers etc, the plus side is that the area is safe.
    *The neighbourhood has a high muslim population therefore the clothing should be considerate when you are out of the beach . People are super friendly and will always try to engage in conversation with you.
    *You can use a Boda Boda(bike), busses and taxis as means of transportation and they are available 24/7 most times.plus we have contact numbers for most of the drivers around so calling one to pick you up and organise drop off is easy.
    *there are lots of nice local pubs and restaurants, shops to buy stuff, flee market that sells literally everything!
    *if you have a drivers licence and are comfortable to drive on the left side of the road we are open to letting you hire the car for a good rate.
    *book a trip with me, depending on your budget and your interest I could organize a trip for you! Inbox me

    if you have any further questions or concerns feel free to ask and we will try to help.

    Looking forward to meeting you Rafiki yangu!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours with 2 days off

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 911196827151