Hosting in Istanbul, sharing experience and cultural exchange



Favourited 248 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    Hello, I am living in Beşiktaş (one of the social center of İstanbul). Right now, I am working as an assistant prof in computer engineering department in a university and I want to expand my life as a communicator of different cultures. Since long time I do yoga and recently I also start to give yoga courses. I can offer you hosting in a cozy place, a guidance about where to see in the city (with lots of tips coming from my 17 years’ experience of living here). I am living in an apartment in a very central place (close to Beşiktaş center, Teşvıkiye and Fulya area). It is very easy to reach to all historical and cultural centers from here (at most 30 minutes by public transport).

    I expect cultural and experimental sharing. The routine works at home includes cleaning, cooking and cat loving :) The best that I can expect from you is cooking ( and teaching me to cook) your traditional food in a joyful ambiance. I speak English and French fluently. A Spanish teacher is very welcome.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    *️️️️️️hatha yoga ( vinyasa flow/yin yoga/ meditation) pratice
    *️️️️️️fulfilling conversations about Turkish culture, about spiritualism, about philosophy ( of course depends on our communication level :) )
    *️️️️️️guidance about being explorer/traveler in İstanbul ( and about the rest of Turkey)

  • Help


    *️️️️️️routine house works ( cleaning/cooking)
    *️️️️️️Spanish teaching
    *️️️️️️Teaching to cook traditional food

    at most 3 hours help per day is sufficient.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    *️️️️️️a private room with fully furnished with double bed, wardrop, 2 drawers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Istanbul is a very cosmopolit and big city. You can see historical places from Ottoman or Byzantium era, join to art exhibition, sightsee Istanbul natural places such as gorgeous Bosphorous, gardens, prince's islands and so on. My place is in the center of European side. It is close to Taxim, Ortaköy, Sultan Ahmet, Karaköy etc. You can very easily find public transport from my place to anywhere in Istanbul at any time. Or you can take a walk to different parts of city (usually, Taxim, Karaköy and Ortaköy takes 45 min by walk). Around my area, you can see Maçka parkı which is a meeting point for many young people to have a walk, make a picnic or meeting new people. You can see Teşvıkiye area which is the shopping area of famous brands with fancy restaurants and cafes. You can also see Beşiktaş center with very nice fish market, traditional turkish bazaar etc. Beşiktaş is also the center of young generation because around here, there are 5 different universities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 899591697377