Beautiful small farm and family experience in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 91 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    194

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    4 years ago our family bought a run down apple orchard and are busy turning it into a vibrant, year-round, organic farm store. Join in the adventure for two weeks or a month, or two!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn how a farm family lives out the 'small farm' dream in Southern Ontario and how to grow your own organic food year round, even in the winter. We are a Christian family with young children and invite you to join in our family life and farm work.

  • Help

    Help

    With our 5th baby born in July, there will be lots of opportunities to help in our family and farm this year!

    There is always lots of interesting things to do on a farm! Whether it's maintaining the large market garden, hunting for fresh, free-range eggs, taste testing an apple, purple ripe and warm from the sunshine, or chatting with one of our many interesting customers at our store.

    With 5 young children full of questions about life the world there is never a dull moment (and they also offer a great opportunity for you to learn English as they love to hear simple stories over and over)!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a very basic, simple 2 room camping trailer for sleeping and you are welcome in the house during the day. Join us in our spacious old farmhouse kitchen for preparing and enjoying (mostly) organic meals and snacks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are within walking distance to the park, shops and library of Brussels,ON. There is no public transit but we are willing to drive workawayers who stay and help for more than 2 weeks to a local site or two. A short drive to Lake Huron. About 1.5 hour from Toronto.

    As a family with young children we would require that you don't smoke/abuse alcohol and use respectful language. No LGBQ applications please. We go to church on Sunday and invite you to come along.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Medium-Large

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    as long as they can be contained/restrained

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 898931297165