Looking for couples with experience in building maintenance, diy, gardening work and general help in a small mountain hamlet, Ribeira Sacra, Galicia

Country

Spain

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English-Spanish/Catalan couple who, since 2000, have run a handweaving and design studio from a small mountain hamlet in the heart of the Ribeira Sacra (Sacred Riverside) in Ourense, Galicia. We also have one of the few online handweaving shops in Spain, selling looms, yarns and weave equipment. We welcome Workaway volunteers for a period of 1-2 months in early 2019 who are experienced in general building maintenance work (painting, woodwork etc.) and organic vegetable gardening, preferably a couple, who are able to work fairly independently. We can offer accommodation in our guest cottage, Casa dos Artesans. The hamlet where we live is very quiet, with under 40 residents. it has a family-run hotel and bar and a local winery and the nearest shop is 1.5km away in the next village. There is limited public transport between the village and Ourense city but if you like walking then you won´t want to leave - the scenery is spectacular. / Somos una pareja ingles-español y desde 2000 llevamos un estudio de artesanía textil (en telar) en un rincón de las montañas de la Ribeira Sacra (Ourense, Galicia). Nuestro trabajo incluye la creación, elaboración y venta de nuestros tejidos, la enseñanza (tanto en universidades gallegas como desde el estudio mismo), y la venta online de nuestros productos. Tenemos un huerto biológico, una casa rústica donde impartimos los cursos y alojamos los alumnos (y donde se alojarán nuestros voluntarios workaway). Nuestra pequeña hija nació en 2014. Buscamos parejas con experiencia en tareas generales de bricolaje, construcción, pintar, y trabajos del huerto - que pueden trabajar de manera independiente - durante 1-2 meses en febrero-marzo 2019.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    How a small-scale craft and rural lifestyle project like ours works in practice, language skills (we can speak to you in Spanish, catalan, English and some Galician), and what life is like in this rural corner of Northwest Spain. / Cómo funciona en la práctica un proyecto de vida de escala pequeña que reune turismo y artesanía y diseño en el norte de España. Te podemos comunicar en inglés, castellano, catalán o (menos) gallego, así que podrás practicar diferentes idiomas con nosotros.

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly assistance with maintenance an deep spring cleaning in the holiday cottage and in our home, e,g, painting, repairing door fixtures, gates, spring cleaning, tidying our outhouses, gathering kindling (small firewood), veg gardening... / Principalmente ayuda con mantenimiento en la vivienda vacacional y en nuestra casa/talleres de artesanía, tal como arreglos a puertas, pintando, ordenar, leña, limpiando el huerto, arreglando paredes, podando, limpieza general.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish, Englsh, Catalan, Galician, French / Inglés, castellano (español), catalán, gallego, francés,

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room in our simple "craft cottage" (with its own kitchen, hot water, limited central heating ... and plenty of blankets and hot showers) or (spring/summer/early autumn) camping in a field outside our home (with access to bathroom), depending on what´s going on at the time. WIFI available in the local bar/hotel when open (low season at weekends only) and during the day in the textile workshop. But we don´t have a connection in the cottage. / Una habitación en la vivienda vacacional (con el uso de la cocina, calefacción algo limitada, pero abundante agua caliente para ducharte, mantas de lana, y botellas de agua caliente!), O, en primavera/verano lugar para acampar en un campo cerca de la casa (con acceso a un baño), dependiendo del trabajo que tenemos en cada monento. WIFI disponible en el hotel/bar del pueblo y, durante el día, en el taller textil. No hay WIFI en la casita.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although we don´t offer voluntary experience in the design or weaving of our handwoven textiles because it´s too specialist this is how we earn our living in rural Spain work. / A pesar de que no ofrecemos la opción de ayudarnos con la creación de los tejidos - es un trabajo demasiado especializado - es como nos ganamos la vida en Galicia y puedes ver como trabajamos durante la estancia con nosotros.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Come and help us behind the scenes at our handwoven textile studio in the Galician mountains of north Spain.

Host ref number: 897319764667

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more