Ancient farm renovation project, South of France.

Country

France

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/01/2018

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    335

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four. James (me), Amy (my wife), our two daughters age 5 and 7 and our large doberman puppy Mandela. We currently live in a caravan on the site of our nearly 200 year old farmhouse which is currently undergoing full renovation. We are 13km N/E of the city of Tarbes. We have travelled extensively in the past and worked as chalet hosts in the French alps. We think that because of our experience we have great catering and hosting skills. We moved here to start a cycling based accommodation business, I'm a keen cyclist and wanted to work doing something I felt passionate about. This area worked particularly well for us being 55km from the Col Du Tourmalet for cycling and walking in the summer, there's snowboarding in the winter. The beach resorts of Biarritz 175km (1h49m) and San Sebastian 212km (2h16m) are accessible for beautiful weekend breaks. We also have great access to kayaking rafting cannoning and paragliding nearby. I enjoy playing guitar although seldom find time these days.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In our household it's possible to learn English and Punjabi languages. We are happy to help people learn how to cook. There will also be a variety of building techniques to learn depending on the stage of the project. The garden needs continual caring and eventually a full landscaping make over. There are fantastic mountain and road bike riding opportunities. Beautiful lakes, rivers and countryside.

  • Help

    Help

    We require help with all aspects of our build, I'm planning to undertake as much of the work as possible myself, so I need someone to work directly with me helping get materials in the right place, and completing building tasks working as a team . The property requires new floors, roof, electrics, plumbing, plastering, tiling, swimming pool installation, septic tank installation, ground works plus many more bits and pieces. Our plot is 3000m2 so needs plenty of landscaping and gardening, we have nuts and pears to be picked/collected at the right time of year. No experience necessary.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Punjabi.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will initially be a dry but bare room in our house, a tent somewhere in the garden or a hammock slung between our beautiful old Tilia trees.
    Food will be from various cultures and contain meat.
    You will be offered three meals a day, a typical light breakfast of cereals, bread and fruit from 7.30am to 9:30am a hot or cold lunch provided between noon and 2pm and a main evening meal with generous amounts of wine and beer will be served between 18:00 and 20:00.
    We are currently using a composting toilet in our cattleshed, again as the project develops we will be installing a septic tank and conventional toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our commune has the famous "Brasserie du Pepere" brewery which you can take a tour of. There are many vineyards in this area. We 32km from Marciac which hosts a 3 week Jazz festival. There are many beautiful lakes. Pyrenees mountain walks. Amazing cycling, Tarbes has a 50m swimming pool and many other facilities. Come and join us we work hard and play hard.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Processionary catapillar.

Host ref number: 897256498982